Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
Toggle side nav

An Elaine Hope Mystery Series

A. R. Ashworth
Souls of Men by A. R. Ashworth
Two Faced by A. R. Ashworth

An Elaine Hope Mystery Series : Titles in Order

Book 2
DCI Elaine Hope barely survived her last case. Someone is still determined to put an end to her. But could the culprit be one of her London Metropolitan Police colleagues?

Detective Chief Inspector Elaine Hope still bears the scars—both physical and emotional—of the devastating assault that nearly ended her life nine months ago. Now, she wants two things: to salvage a police career in tatters, and to get payback. But who is the ultimate culprit? Is it Anton Srecko, capo of the brutal gangsters who attacked her? Or is it someone within the London Metropolitan Police, who failed to send backup when she most needed help?

Put on desk duty while she recovers from the attack, Elaine runs her rogue investigation in secret. Despite the crime chart on her bedroom wall, a slate of clandestine informers, and a list of likely suspects, she hits a maddening dead end.

Meanwhile, former members of Elaine’s team, Detectives Philip Bull and Simon Costello, find themselves assigned to what appears to be a vicious gangland execution that has taken place in the posh neighbourhood of Kensington. The victim bears a tattoo that links him to the Sreckos, and a mysterious barefoot blonde woman was seen fleeing the scene. Their new DI seems to be quashing the investigation. When they turn to Elaine for help, she’s given one last chance to save her career. But she’ll have to give up her off-the-books investigation and work closely with an old nemesis. Can she?

As Elaine is pushed closer and closer to the edge, the evidence grows ever more perplexing and chilling. Building on A. R. Ashworth’s acclaimed series debut, Two Faced is the second Elaine Hope mystery to deliver nonstop suspense leading to an unexpected and spectacular climax.
Book 1
Veteran Detective Inspector Elaine Hope knows she was born to be a detective. Now she’s taken over a bungled case and released the only suspect. Her male superiors in the London Metropolitan Police doubt her, and London’s tabloids scream for a scapegoat.

None of them can stop her. Finding the truth is all that matters to Elaine. She forges ahead, standing up to her bosses, bad cops, and murderous crooks. Each has reason to fear her. Elaine’s life gets more complicated when a former suspect shows romantic interest. He won’t reveal his personal tragedies to anyone but Elaine, and she has her own secrets.

As Elaine and her protégé, Liz Barker, track the killer through wintery London boroughs, darker hunters join the chase. When she finally confronts her quarry face-to-face, Elaine discovers how desires can mold the souls of men, and how one terrifying night will change her life forever.

Souls of Men, A. R. Ashworth’s chilling debut, is sure to appeal to readers of Sharon Bolton and Deborah Crombie.

Find other titles in

Back to Top