Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

Coldfire Series

C.S. Friedman
Set on the turbulent alien planet of Erna, where the natural force of the Fae produces unspeakable horrors from the fears of human settlers, Friedman’s groundbreaking Coldfire trilogy blends science fiction and fantasy in a dark tale of ambition and the powers of the human imagination.
Black Sun Rising by C.S. Friedman
When True Night Falls by C.S. Friedman
Crown of Shadows by C.S. Friedman

Coldfire Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
Unlikely allies Damien and Tarrant are faced with an enemy who may prove invulnerable—a demon who has declared war on mankind. Called Calesta, he is a master of illusion and devourer of pain, and he plans to remake the human species until it exists only to sate his unquenchable thirst for suffering.

The war against Calesta will take Damien and Tarrant from the depths of Hell to the birthplace of demons and beyond—in a battle that could cost them not only their lives, but the very soul of mankind.

Crown of Shadows is the stunning conclusion to C. S. Friedman’s Coldfire trilogy.
Book 2
Blending science fiction and fantasy, the second book of the Coldfire Trilogy continues a dark tale of an alien world where nightmares are made manifest.

Two men, absolute enemies, must unite to conquer an evil greater than anything their world has ever known. One is a warrior priest ready to sacrifice anything and everything for the cause of humanity’s progress; the other, a sorcerer who has survived for countless centuries by a total submission to evil. In their joint quest, both will be irrevocably changed.

When True Night Falls is the sequel to C. S. Friedman’s acclaimed Black Sun Rising.
Book 1
Blending science fiction and fantasy, the first book of the Coldfire Trilogy tells a dark tale of an alien world where nightmares are made manifest.

Over a millennium ago, Erna, a seismically active yet beautiful world was settled by colonists from far-distant Earth. But the seemingly habitable planet was fraught with perils no one could have foretold. The colonists found themselves caught in a desperate battle for survival against the fae, a terrifying natural force with the power to prey upon the human mind itself, drawing forth a person’s worst nightmare images or most treasured dreams and indiscriminately giving them life.

Twelve centuries after fate first stranded the colonists on Erna, mankind has achieved an uneasy stalemate, and human sorcerers manipulate the fae for their own profit, little realizing that demonic forces which feed upon such efforts are rapidly gaining in strength.

Now, as the hordes of the dark fae multiply, four people—Priest, Adept, Apprentice, and Sorcerer—are about to be drawn inexorably together for a mission which will force them to confront an evil beyond their imagining, in a conflict which will put not only their own lives but the very fate of humankind in jeopardy.

Find other titles in

Back to Top