Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

Enlightenment: An Interpretation Series

Peter Gay
Enlightenment Volume 1 by Peter Gay
Enlightenment Volume 2 by Peter Gay

Enlightenment: An Interpretation Series : Titles in Order

Book 2
The Science of Freedom completes Peter Gay’s brilliant reinterpretation begun in The Enlightenment: The Rise of Modern Paganism. In the present book, he describes the philosophes’ program and their views of society. His masterful appraisal opens a new range of insights into the Enlightenment’s critical method and its humane and libertarian vision.
Book 1
The eighteenth century Enlightenment marks the beginning of the modern age when the scientific method and belief in reason and progress came to hold sway over the Western world. In the twentieth century, however, the Enlightenment has often been judged harshly for its apparently simplistic optimism. Here a master historian goes back to the sources to give us both a more sophisticated and intriguing view of the philosophes, their world and their ideas.

Find other titles in

Back to Top