Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Black Wings Series

S. T. Joshi and Caitlin R. Kiernan
Black Wings of Cthulhu by S. T. Joshi
Black Wings of Cthulhu (Volume 5) by S. T. Joshi
Black Wings of Cthulhu (Volume Six) by S. T. Joshi

Black Wings Series : Titles in Order

Book 6
Volume 6 in the successful and critically acclaimed series of Lovecraftian horror anthologies by the most prominent acolytes of the horror master.

From claustrophobic fear in isolated New England towns to terrifying threats that span the infinite cosmos, the tales herein are fuelled by H. P. Lovecraft’s creations. While his horrors originate in a vast cosmos outside of space and time, the terrors they bring strike ordinary humans caught up in conflicts far beyond their control.

This volume offers a who’s who of Lovecraftian authors including Aaron Bittner, Adam Bolivar, Jason V Brock, Ashley Dioses, David Hambling, Lynne Jamneck, Mark Howard Jones, Caitlín R. Kiernan, Nancy Kilpatrick, Tom Lynch, D. L. Myers, William F. Nolan, K. A. Opperman, W. H. Pugmire, Ann K. Schwader, Darrell Schweitzer, Steve Rasnic Tem, Jonathan Thomas, Donald Tyson, Don Webb, and Stephen Woodworth. Gathered together by S. T. Joshi, their works are certain to thrill.
Book 5
Inspired by H.P. Lovecraft and brought together by editor S. T. Joshi, the tales in this horror short story collection explore the very essence of fear
H. P. Lovecraft’s brand of cosmic horror has long forced readers to an inexorable truth—there are powers in the universe whose immensity dwarfs petty human conflicts.

Between these covers lie many of the finest Lovecraftian authors, including Sunni K Brock, Donald R. Burleson, Mollie L. Burleson, Nicole Cushing, Jason C. Eckhardt, Sam Gafford, Wade German, Cody Goodfellow, David Hambling, Lynne Jamneck, Mark Howard Jones, Caitlín R. Kiernan, Nancy Kilpatrick, W. H. Pugmire, John Reppion, Darrell Schweitzer, Jonathan Thomas, Donald Tyson, Robert H. Waugh, and Stephen Woodworth.
Book 4
Return to the dark and macabre world of H.P. Lovecraft with this fourth installment in the critically acclaimed horror anthology series Black Wings of Cthulhu

Through his collaborations with today’s most talented and acclaimed practitioners of Lovecraftian fiction, editor S. T. Joshi has made the Black Wings of Cthulhu series essential for every library of horror and the macabre. Volume four offers up seventeen new masterpieces, each exploring the roots of fear employed so famously by the master himself, H. P. Lovecraft.

Between these covers there lies a who’s who of the supernatural, including Fred Chappell, Jason V Brock, Gary Fry, Richard Gavin, Cody Goodfellow, Lois H. Gresh, Caitlín R. Kiernan, Charles Lovecraft, Will Murray, John Pelan and Stephen Mark Rainey, W. H. Pugmire, Ann K. Schwader, Darrell Schweitzer, Simon Strantzas, Melanie Tem, Jonathan Thomas, Donald Tyson, and Stephen Woodworth.
Book 3
More dark tales of eldritch horror set in the Cthulhu Mythos universe, first created by horror master H.P. Lovecraft

Volume three of the critically acclaimed Black Wings series offers seventeen original tales of horror, following in the footsteps of the master. Stephen King has called H. P. Lovecraft “the twentieth century’s greatest practitioner of the classic horror tale,” and his influence continues unabated.

These new offerings of cosmic terror come from many of the genre’s greatest modern acolytes, including Jason V Brock, Donald R. Burleson, Mollie L. Burleson, Peter Cannon, Sam Gafford, Richard Gavin, Lois Gresh, Mark Howard Jones, Caitlín R. Kiernan, Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., Darrell Schweitzer, Jessica Amanda Salmonson and W. H. Pugmire, Simon Strantzas, Brian Stableford, Jonathan Thomas, Donald Tyson, and Don Webb.
Book 2
The second volume in a thrilling new Lovecraftian horror anthology series featuring spine-tingling tales from Caitlín R. Kiernan, John Shirley, and more

Editor S.T. Joshi has assembled 18 brand-new stories of cosmic mayhem and terror, by Jason V. Brock, Rick Dakan, Jason C. Eckhardt, Brian Evenson, Tom Fletcher, Richard Gavin, Caitlín R. Kiernan, John Langan, Nick Mamatas, Nicholas Royle, Darrell Schweitzer, John Shirley, Melanie Tem, Steve Rasnic Tem, Jonathan Thomas, Donald Tyson, Don Webb, and Chet Williamson.

When Death Wakes Me to Myself by John Shirley
View by Tom Fletcher
Houndwife by Caitlín R. Kiernan
King of Cat Swamp by Jonathan Thomas
Dead Media by Nick Mamatas
The Abject by Richard Gavin
Dahlias by Melanie Tem
Bloom by John Langan
And the Sea Gave Up the Dead by Jason C. Eckhardt
Casting Call by Don Webb
The Clockwork King, the Queen of Glass, and the Man with the Hundred Knives by Darrell Schweitzer
The Other Man by Nicholas Royle
Waiting at the Crossroads Motel by Steve Rasnic Tem
The Wilcox Remainder by Brian Evenson
Correlated Discontents by Rick Dakan
The Skinless Face by Donald Tyson
The History of a Letter by Jason V Brock
Appointed by Chet Williamson
Book 1
From the depths of R’lyeh come twenty-one brand-new, utterly terrifying, and thoroughly entertaining tales of Lovecraftian horror and the macabre

Taking their inspiration from works by Lovecraft himself, prominent writers such as Caitlin R. Kiernan, Brian Stableford, Ramsey Campbell, Michael Shea, Darrell Schweitzer, Donald R. Burleson, and David J. Schow delve deep into the psyche, expanding on concepts H.P. Lovecraft created and taking them in new directions. 

The result is stories that are wholly original, some even featuring Lovecraft himself as a character. Black Wings editor S.T. Joshi is the recognized authority on all things Lovecraftian, and is famous for his restorations of Lovecraft’s original works. He has assembled a star-studded line-up in a book that is essential for every horror library. 

Pickman’s Other Model – Caitlín R. Kiernan 
Desert Dreams – Donald R. Burleson 
Engravings – Joseph S. Pulver, Sr. 
Copping Squid – Michael Shea 
Passing Spirits – Sam Gafford 
The Broadsword – Laird Barron 
Usurped – William Browning Spencer 
Denker’s Book – Davd J. Schow 
Inhabitants of Wraithwood – W.H Pugmire 
The Dome – Mollie L. Burleson 
Rotterdam – Nicholas Royle 
Tempting Providence – Jonathan Thomas 
Howling in the Dark – Darrell Schweitzer 
The Truth About Pickman – Brian Stableford 
Tunnells – Philip Haldeman 
The Correspondence of Cameron Thaddeus Nash – Annotated by Ramsey Campbell 
Violence, Child of Trust – Michael Cisco 
Lesser Demons – Norman Partridge 
An Eldritch Matter – Adam Niswander 
Substitutions – Michael Marshall Smith 
Susie – Jason Van Hollander
Back to Top