Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Backwoods Justice Series

C. Hoyt Caldwell
Savage Reckoning by C. Hoyt Caldwell
Savage Rising by C. Hoyt Caldwell

Backwoods Justice Series : Titles in Order

Book 2
The diminutive but tenacious Deputy Dani Savage teams up with a pair of eccentric outsiders in this tale of moonshine and murder—a rollicking thriller of the Appalachian backwoods, for fans of Justified.

Still trying to prove to the good folks of Baptist Flats, Tennessee, that a woman who’s five-foot-nothing has the mettle to wear a badge, Dani is called in to investigate the death of a man found in a horse’s stall with his pants around his ankles. At first it appears to be a simple accident, but things turn complicated when the victim’s only ID belongs to an ATF agent. A female ATF agent. A missing female ATF agent.

To make matters worse, a mystery man named Jack Spivey has come to town, asking questions about the ATF agent’s disappearance and promising a world of pain when he doesn’t like the answers. Then an Amazonian ex-Marine joins in, and Dani has no choice but to team up with these shadowy strangers. As they follow a twisted trail of clues into the mountains, they uncover a chilling conspiracy—and a common enemy who’s trained to kill.
Book 1
In the vein of Elmore Leonard’s Justified, C. Hoyt Caldwell introduces a thriller series set in the dark side of the Appalachian mountains—featuring a heroine who’s playing both sides of the law.
 
Deputy Dani Savage would like nothing better than to shoot the wife beaters, carjackers, drug dealers, and all the rest of the low-life good ol’ boys that make policing Baptist Flats, Tennessee, near impossible. Instead, she grits her teeth and serves the God-fearing townsfolk without complaint. The “little deputy,” as she’s known, is often overlooked and ridiculed for being a small-statured woman in a big man’s world. But while investigating a cold case involving a missing teen, Dani stumbles onto some disturbing facts that cannot be ignored.
 
Soon Dani realizes that this case goes back decades. There’s a history of young women being stolen from the Tennessee hills, and a legacy of corrupt cops looking the other way. Dani’s investigation leads her to the “closeout kings,” a pair of hired killers with a tale to tell—a tale of a missing girl and a crime worse than murder. Somehow these two deranged hit men are Dani’s last, best allies. They know that it’s time for payback—and in the backwoods, justice takes only one form.

Praise for Savage Reckoning

“A highly addictive read from start to finish.”—Carrie’s Book Reviews
 
“Author C. Hoyt Caldwell has crafted a first-rate crime thriller in Savage Reckoning.”—Vera’s Book Reviews and Stuff
 
“One heck of a wild ride.”—No Glitter Blown

“The book is great, action-filled, amusing, mysterious and heartbreaking.”—A Bookaholic Swede
 
“Genuinely one of the funniest novels I’ve read in such a long time even if it does deal with some pretty gruesome stuff.”—Book Bum
 
“A well-developed mystery with strong characters and thrilling progression!”—The Black Sheep Project

Find other titles in

Back to Top