Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The Tears of Artamon Series

Sarah Ash
Lord of Snow and Shadows by Sarah Ash
Prisoner of the Iron Tower by Sarah Ash
Children of the Serpent Gate by Sarah Ash

The Tears of Artamon Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
In this third novel in her acclaimed Tears of Artamon saga, Sarah Ash once again transports readers to a realm where sorcery collides with political intrigue . . . and where one man haunted by a dark legacy is locked in a fierce struggle between the forces of good and evil battling for supremacy within him. . . . 

Gavril Nagarian is believed dead—perished in the heat of battle. But the Lord Drakhaon of Azhkendir lives on. Now he is entrusted with a sacred mission: to rescue the aged Magus, who has been kidnapped and in whose possession are the five priceless rubies that compose the fabled Tears of Artamon. Ancient law decrees that whoever possesses the coveted stones has the power to impose his rule over the five princedoms in the Empire of New Rossiya.

But the task exacts a cost. The Drakhaoul that destroyed his forebears has penetrated Gavril’s psyche and is gaining power over his soul. With the dark forces inside him seeking immortality, Gavril must feed on the blood of innocents—or die.

Toppled by the loss of the Tears of Artamon, Emperor Eugene of Tielen is tormented by his own daemon. Now he must defend his lands against King Enguerrand of Francia, who claims ownership of the Tears. But both men share a common goal: to destroy Gavril Nagarian and the Drakhaoul that lives within him once and for all.

Ingenious and unforgettable, Children of the Serpent Gate delivers a thrilling conclusion to the epic trials of a man of honor in a world run amok—a calamity that can be laid to rest only by an Emperor’s Tears.
Book 2
A writer of rare imagination, Sarah Ash lends her unique vision to epic fantasy. In this captivating continuation of her saga, the author of Lord of Snow and Shadows revisits a realm filled with spirits and singers, daemons and kings. . . . 

Gavril Nagarian has finally cast out the dragon-daemon from within himself. The Drakhaoul is gone—and with it all of Gavril’s fearsome powers. No longer possessed, he is instead being driven mad by the Drakhaoul’s absence. Worse, he has betrayed his blood, his people, and put the ice-bound princedom of Azhkendir at risk—and lost.At the mercy of the victorious Eugene of Tielen, Gavril is sentenced to life in an insane asylum. For the power-hungry Eugene longs to possess a Drakhaoul of his own, and his prisoner seems the best way to achieve that goal. Meanwhile, a shattered empire reunites. But peace is as fragile as a rebel’s whisper—and a captive’s wish to be free. . . .

Praise for Prisoner of the Iron Tower

“A new fantasy series [that] will leave readers drooling to get their hands on the sequel.”—Publishers Weekly

“Solid, wonderful fantasy, sparkling and imaginative!”—Booklist

“Ash takes her large and colorful cast of characters from horror to pathos, from triumph to betrayal, smoothly and convincingly. a roller-coaster ride of events and emotions in the best modern fantasy manner.”—Kirkus Reviews
Book 1
Combining the best of fantasy traditions with her own unique vision, Sarah Ash brings us a new saga filled with epic adventure and unforgettable characters—set in a world teeming with political intrigue, astonishing magic, and passions both dark and light. . . .

“Unusual . . . exotic . . . Well worth the read!”—Katherine Kurtz, author of Crusade of Fire

Raised by his protective mother in the sunny climes of the south, Gavril Andar knows nothing of his father—or of the ominous legacy that awaits him. But now the man who ruled the wintry kingdom of Azhkendir, a man infused with the burning blood of the dragon-warrior known as Drakhaoul—has been murdered by his enemies. 

Expected to avenge his father’s death—and still his unquiet ghost—Gavril soon learns that becoming Drakhaon means not only ascending to the throne of Azhkendir but slowly changing into a being of extraordinary power and might. A being that must be replenished with the blood of innocents in order to survive…

“Unusually complex [with] a smooth style, breathtaking atmosphere, and a fickle, impetuous plot.”—Dave Duncan, author of Paragon Lost

“A splendid tale . . . Sarah Ash is destined to be one of the bright luminaries of fantasy.”—Dennis L. McKiernan, author of the Mithgar series

Find other titles in

Back to Top