Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
The ReadDown

40 Books Every Music Lover Should Read

Are you a music fan? These fiction and nonfiction books are sure to satisfy your desire to rock and read a fantastic story.
  1. A Visit from the Goon Squad Book Cover Picture
    1

    A Visit from the Goon Squad

    This book a visit from punk rock’s rich history intertwined with a web of enthralling characters.

    Read more
  2. Ready Player One Book Cover Picture
    2

    Ready Player One

    For readers who enjoy 80’s pop culture references, video games, and dystopian showdowns.

    Read more
  3. High Fidelity Book Cover Picture
    3

    High Fidelity

    A story about music and breakups; the winning combination.

    Read more
  4. Talking to Girls About Duran Duran Book Cover Picture
    4

    Talking to Girls About Duran Duran

    The key to her heart is through her ears.

    Read more
  5. Porcelain Book Cover Picture
    5

    Porcelain

    When Moby wasn’t a legendary, world-renowned DJ, he was struggling to beat the odds in a NYC club scene.

    Read more
  6. How Music Got Free Book Cover Picture
    6

    How Music Got Free

    Learn about the secret history of the music industry.

    Read more
  7. Jagger Book Cover Picture
    7

    Jagger

    For music lovers to learn about the elusive rocker in a whole new light.

    Read more
  8. Autobiography Book Cover Picture
    8

    Autobiography

    One of the most influential music icons in history also has a unique writing talent.

    Read more
  9. Station Eleven Book Cover Picture
    9

    Station Eleven

    A dystopian tale for symphony music lovers.

    Read more
  10. Reckless Book Cover Picture
    10

    Reckless

    Chrissie is so cool. She’s funny, honest, and just plain awesome in her autobiography.

    Read more
  11. In the Pleasure Groove Book Cover Picture
    11

    In the Pleasure Groove

    Because this list wouldn’t be complete without more than one Duran Duran book.

    Read more
  12. Unfaithful Music & Disappearing Ink Book Cover Picture
    12

    Unfaithful Music & Disappearing Ink

    Music lovers know the radio, radio will take you to the other end of the telescope.

    Read more
  13. M Train Book Cover Picture
    13

    M Train

    Patti Smith is a vision, and we’d read her daily meditations, well, daily.

    Read more
  14. Under the Big Black Sun Book Cover Picture
    14

    Under the Big Black Sun

    Travel back in time to the beginning and evolution of the Los Angeles punk rock scene.

    Read more
  15. The Sun & The Moon & The Rolling Stones Book Cover Picture
    15

    The Sun & The Moon & The Rolling Stones

    A fresh perspective on the Rolling Stones, told by the co-creator of HBO’s new music series, Vinyl.

    Read more
  16. Billie Holiday Book Cover Picture
    16

    Billie Holiday

    Critically acclaimed jazz writer and musician, John Szwed, gives fans a biography as well as a reflection on Billie Holiday’s special life.

    Read more
  17. Just Listen Book Cover Picture
    17

    Just Listen

    Teenage romance  sparked by a music obsession.

    Read more
  18. The Commitments Book Cover Picture
    18

    The Commitments

    When working class Irish kids form a band, you’re committed to reading about it.

    Read more
  19. The Fortress of Solitude Book Cover Picture
    19

    The Fortress of Solitude

    Love music? Love coming of age novels? Here you go.

    Read more
  20. The Piano Teacher Book Cover Picture
    20

    The Piano Teacher

    Claire Pendleton goes to Hong Kong to work as a piano teacher.

    Read more
  21. This Is Your Brain on Music Book Cover Picture
    21

    This Is Your Brain on Music

    Why do humans have a special relationship with music? This book tells us what music can teach us about the brain, and what your brain can teach us about music.

    Read more
  22. The Walrus and the Elephants Book Cover Picture
    22

    The Walrus and the Elephants

    John Lennon’s story of music and politics is a poignant reminder that music is love and love is peace.

    Read more
  23. Man on the Run Book Cover Picture
    23

    Man on the Run

    Deeply revealing and detail rich, this McCartney biography is an illuminating look at the life of a rock icon.

    Read more
  24. SM Waging Heavy Peace Book Cover Picture
    24

    SM Waging Heavy Peace

    “I think I will have to use my time wisely and keep my thoughts straight if I am to succeed and deliver the cargo I so carefully have carried thus far to the outer reaches.”  –Neil Young, from Waging Heavy Peace

    Read more
  25. Bob Dylan In America Book Cover Picture
    25

    Bob Dylan In America

    The answer, my friends, is blowing through the pages of this book.

    Read more
  26. A Freewheelin' Time Book Cover Picture
    26

    A Freewheelin’ Time

    On that note, this memoir is playing a song for you in the jingle jangle mornings of the 1960’s folk music scene in NYC.

    Read more
  27. Neil and Me Book Cover Picture
    27

    Neil and Me

    Explore the life of Neil Young through his father’s eyes.

    Read more
  28. The James Brown Reader Book Cover Picture
    28

    The James Brown Reader

    James Brown’s life through the eyes of writers from four decades.

    Read more
  29. Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl Book Cover Picture
    29

    Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl

    Music makes Carrie a modern rockstar.

    Read more
  30. The Soloist Book Cover Picture
    30

    The Soloist

    Renne was once one of the world’s greatest cellists, and years later, two events change his life drastically.

    Read more
  31. Audrey, Wait! Book Cover Picture
    31

    Audrey, Wait!

    After Audrey dumps her ex-boyfriend Evan, he writes a song about her that propels her into stardom.

    Read more
  32. A Life in Letters Book Cover Picture
    32

    A Life in Letters

    A selection of Mozart’s letters, translated into English, complete with notes, linking commentary and chronology.

    Read more
  33. Songbook Book Cover Picture
    33

    Songbook

    “All I have to say about these songs is that I love them, and want to sing along to them, and force other people to listen to them, and get cross when these other people don’t like them as much as I do.” —Nick Hornby, from Songbook

    Read more
  34. There Goes Gravity Book Cover Picture
    34

    There Goes Gravity

    From Led Zeppelin to Eminem and Patti Smith to Kanye West, this book’s an insider’s behind-the-scenes look at the major personalities of rock and roll.

    Read more
  35. The Loser Book Cover Picture
    35

    The Loser

    A fictional story about the relationship between piano virtuoso Glenn Gould and two of his fellow students.

    Read more
  36. Love Is a Mix Tape Book Cover Picture
    36

    Love Is a Mix Tape

    The mix tape is the symbol of first love and epitome of romance. (What do teenagers do now, make mix-Spotify playlists?)

    Read more
  37. Where She Went Book Cover Picture
    37

    Where She Went

    Music continues to flourish in the anticipated sequel to the moving story, If I Stay,

    Read more
  38. This Song Will Save Your Life Book Cover Picture
    38

    This Song Will Save Your Life

    This audiobook is about how music brings people together.

    Read more
  39. Musicophilia Book Cover Picture
    39

    Musicophilia

    Oliver Sacks explores the place music occupies in the brain and how it affects the human condition.

    Read more
  40. Dave Hill Doesn't Live Here Anymore Book Cover Picture
    40

    Dave Hill Doesn’t Live Here Anymore

    Dave Hill combines incredibly sultry guitar skills with an impeccable comedic timing to create a memorable performance.

    Read more

Related Lists:

Back to Top