Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

James Merrill

Photo of James Merrill

Photo: © Tom Victor

About the Author

JAMES MERRILL (1926-1995), one of the foremost American poets of the later twentieth century, was the winner of numerous awards for his work, including two National Book Awards, the Bollingen Prize, the Pulitzer Prize, and the first Bobbit Prize from the Library of Congress. From The Black Swan (1946) through A Scattering of Salts (1995) he published eleven volumes of poems, in addition to the trilogy comprising The Changing Light at Sandover. He also published two plays, two novels, a collection of essays and interviews, and a memoir. He was a chancellor of the Academy of American Poets and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Sign me up for news about James Merrill and more from Penguin Random House

Back to Top