Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Transcending Post-Infidelity Stress Disorder

Best Seller
Transcending Post-Infidelity Stress Disorder by Dennis C. Ortman
Paperback $16.99
Apr 28, 2009 | ISBN 9781587613340

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Apr 28, 2009 | ISBN 9781587613340

    Also available from:

  • Sep 21, 2011 | ISBN 9780307807809

    Available from:

Product Details


Of all the books on infidelity, this is the first that pegs the aftermath, accurately in my view, as a trauma that results in a “stress disorder” with a clear plan for healing. Insightful and helpful. —Harville Hendrix, PhD, author of Getting the Love You Want
Dennis Ortman writes with generosity and grace about a very difficult topic. This book is honest, compassionate, and clinically smart; his strong spiritual message makes the subject of infidelity far more hopeful and humane. —Pat Love, EdD, author of The Truth About Love
Dr. Ortman is right on in calling an infidelity a trauma. By uniting the wisdom of Western psychology with East-West spiritual traditions, he offers rich, practical guidance and hope. –Janis Abrahms Spring, PhD, author of After the Affair and How Can I Forgive You?

Table Of Contents

Acknowledgments   ix
Preface   xi
Introduction   1
Part One. Infidelity as Trauma   11
1. Symptoms of Post-Infidelity Stress Disorder (PISD)   12
   Imprisoned in Hurt and Rage
2. Differing Responses of Men and Women to Infidelity   30
   The Many Faces of PISD
3. Those Most Vulnerable to Trauma   40
   A Heart Close to Breaking
4. Adult Children of Unfaithful Parents   55
   The Pain Goes On
Part Two. Steps to Recovery from the Trauma   67
5. Stage 1: Calming the Emotional Storm
   Finding a Safe Haven within Yourself   68

6. Stage 2: Understanding Your Unfaithful Partner
   Why? . . . Why Me?   90

7. Stage 3: Seeking Self-Understanding
   The Truth Will Set You Free   113

8. Stage 4: Making a Wise Decision
   To Be or Not to Be . . . with Your Partner   138

9. Stage 5: Embracing Self-Forgiveness
   Freeing Yourself to Love Again   163

10. Stage 6: Forgiving Your Unfaithful Partner
   A Healing Journey   183

Epilogue. A Broken Heart Becomes an Open Heart   209
Appendix. Eight Exercises to Deepen Recovery   219
Notes   229
Suggested Reading   233
Index   236

Be the first to know!
More from Dennis C. Ortman and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Dennis C. Ortman and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top