Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The Redgraves

Best Seller
The Redgraves by Donald Spoto
Oct 02, 2012 | ISBN 9780307720177

Available from:

  • Oct 02, 2012 | ISBN 9780307720177

    Available from:

Product Details


“Chronicling the Redgrave family from 1894 to the present, this book is as much a tribute to the crafting of family history as it is to the dynastic acting family. From the questionable beginnings of Sir Michael Redgrave to the recent, tragic death of his granddaughter, Natasha Richardson, Spoto (Possessed: The Life of Joan Crawford) takes readers up close and personal with the Redgraves in this detailed history. Readers interested in the Redgraves and their work on screen and stage will also learn about the paths they took to become great actors. Spoto’s more than 30 years of research successfully come to fruition in this title, which is much like his 1983 book, The Dark Side of Genius: The Life of Alfred Hitchcock. Spoto allows readers to become completely immersed in the lives, across generations, of this remarkable family. Highly recommended for readers interested in acting, the Redgraves, or multigenerational family histories.” — Library Journal

Table Of Contents

Introduction and Acknowledgments
One: Their Wedding Days (1824-1921)                                       
Two: Ghosts and Guilt (1921-1935)                                             
Three: Faithful, In A Fashion (1935-1937)                                   
Four: Lost Ladies (1937-1939)                                                     
Five: The Stars Look Up and Down (1939-1941)                      
Six: The Garden of Earthly Delights (1941-1946)                    
Seven: A Term in Hollywood (1947)                                         
Eight: Thunderbolt (1948-1953)                                                
Nine:  Tom (1953-1956)                                                            
Ten: Invisible Chains (1956-1960)                                           
Eleven: Fat for Comedy, Thin for Tragedy (1961-1963)         
Twelve: Georgy and Guenevere (1964-1966)                         
Thirteen: Hideaways (1967-1975)                                           
Fourteen: Hoodlums (1976-1985)                                            
Fifteen: Things Happen (1985-2011)                                       

Get the latest updates from Donald Spoto
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top