Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Force of Spirit by Scott Russell Sanders
Add The Force of Spirit to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

The Force of Spirit

Best Seller
The Force of Spirit by Scott Russell Sanders
Paperback $18.00
Sep 18, 2001 | ISBN 9780807062975

Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Sep 18, 2001 | ISBN 9780807062975

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

Sanders’s voice is honest and witty and rich with the joy of storytelling; he confronts gently, but with determination, many of the dilemmas of our time and the enigmatic nature of our worlds. The Force of Spirit urges the reader to sit back, to enjoy the pleasure of reading, then to consider and reconsider carefully. -Pattiann Rogers, author of Eating Bread and Honey

“In the tradition of Montaigne, Thoreau, Wendell Berry, and Annie Dillard, Sanders has established himself as one of the few masters of the personal essay.” -Tom Montgomery-Fate, The Boston Globe

“Sanders is the writer I turn to when I feel the need to slow down, pay attention, ponder the blessings of life and acknowledge them with due respect, apprehension, joy. His newest gathering of essays . . . only enhances my admiration for his values, vision, and eloquence.” -Jim Mustick, A Common Reader

“One of America’s finest essayists. Sanders writes with a rare grace and sensitivity, befriending the reader by being so human himself.” —Phillip Lopate

“Sanders’s voice is honest and witty and rich with the joy of storytelling; he confronts gently, but with determination, many of the dilemmas of our time and the enigmatic nature of our worlds. The Force of Spirit urges the reader to sit back, to enjoy the pleasure of reading, then to consider and reconsider carefully.” —Pattiann Rogers, author of Eating Bread and Honey

“In the tradition of Montaigne, Thoreau, Wendell Berry, and Annie Dillard, Sanders has established himself as one of the few masters of the personal essay.” —Tom Montgomery-Fate, The Boston Globe

“Sanders is the writer I turn to when I feel the need to slow down, pay attention, ponder the blessings of life and acknowledge them with due respect, apprehension, joy. His newest gathering of essays . . . only enhances my admiration for his values, vision, and eloquence.” —Jim Mustick, A Common Reader

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Scott Russell Sanders
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top