Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Someone Else's Skin by Sarah Hilary
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Someone Else's Skin

Best Seller
Someone Else's Skin by Sarah Hilary
Paperback $16.00
Jun 24, 2014 | ISBN 9780143126188

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Jun 24, 2014 | ISBN 9780143126188

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 24, 2014 | ISBN 9780698151154

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

“Fans of Val McDermid and Ian Rankin will love this tremendous debut. Someone Else’s Skin puts Sarah Hilary and DI Marnie Rome squarely on the map. A gripping, disturbing examination of domestic violence with gravitas in spades, this book haunts you well after its finish.” – Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of Through Evil Days

“A truly engrossing read from an exceptional new talent. Hilary writes with a beguiling immediacy that pulls you straight into her world on the first page and leaves you bereft when you finish. Intelligent, emotional and totally unexpected in terms of where it goes. I truly loved this book” – Alex Marwood, author of  the Edgar Award-winning The Wicked Girls

“So brilliantly put together, unflinching without ever being gratuitous… and I love the way Sarah writes – every other page has a line I wish I’d thought of myself.  It’s the best crime debut I’ve ever read and deserves to be MASSIVE” – Erin Kelly, author of The Poison Tree

“If this first entry is anything to go by, Hilary’s sense of plot and subtle character building will make the DI Marnie Rome series one to watch.” – ShelfAwareness

“[Hilary] skilfully interweaves multiple viewpoints on the way to the mystery’s unsettling conclusion.” – Publisher’s Weekly 

“Gripping and full of graphic details about the lives and psychology of her characters, both abusers and their victims. You might be surprised at the end to learn which is which.” – Mystery Scene

“What an entry on to the thriller scene Hilary has made with Someone Else’s Skin. She writes deftly, unobtrusively, subtly drawing her readers in… it’s the story that really drives this novel, though, and this is a corker: twisty, tricksy and, on occasion, seriously scary. This is an extraordinarily good debut.” – The Observer (London)

“Sarah Hilary’s impressive debut, Someone Else’s Skin, introduces Detective Inspector Marnie Rome, who is, I believe, unique among fictional cops in having had both her parents knifed to death by a teenager who lived with the family. The outwardly tough, inwardly mixed-up Rome visits a local women’s refuge with her colleague DS Noah Jake. As they walk in, they witness a resident viciously stabbing her tormentor husband. Later, she disappears with another woman from the refuge. The book’s central theme is domestic violence, which Hilary handles unflinchingly with force and passion. DI Rome is an appealing creation.” The Times (London)

“A tense, deep and dramatic tale of domestic violence.” – The Independent (London)

“There’s an accomplished writer learning her trade here and it richly deserves to succeed” – The Daily Mail (London)

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Sarah Hilary
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top