Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Planetfall by Emma Newman
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Planetfall

Best Seller
Planetfall by Emma Newman
Ebook
Nov 03, 2015 | ISBN 9780698404328

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Nov 03, 2015 | ISBN 9780425282397

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Nov 03, 2015 | ISBN 9780698404328

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Planetfall

“Cathartic and transcendent.”—The New York Times

“An exceptionally engaging novel that explores the complex relationship between mythology and science…Surprising plot turns and richly developed characters make for a vivid, riveting read.”—The Washington Post

“I have been waiting for this book for a very long time. Planetfall is gripping, thoughtful science fiction in the vein of Tiptree or Crispin. Unique, timely, and enthralling…Emma Newman has crafted a story that turns inward on itself in a beautiful spiral; the written equivalent of the golden mean.  Absolutely worth your time. Science fiction is meant to show us things about ourselves that we need to know. Planetfall is some of the finest sociological science fiction I have read since Tiptree…Absolutely beautiful. What a glorious, heartbreaking maze of a book.”—Seanan McGuire, author of A Red Rose Chain

“Newman has crafted a thrilling tale of murder, mystery and madness on a world where humanity is still its own worst enemy. Horrifying and heartbreaking in equal measure, the catastrophe driving this narrative will keep you riveted until the very last page. Don’t miss this one.”—Kameron Hurley, author of the The Mirror Empire

“A fascinating and propolsive tale about what could happen when actual humans try to settle a planet and about how little protection technology can really offer in the face of our inherent weaknesses.”—Locus

“Incredibly well-realized world building…Thrilling.”—io9.com

“Builds and builds to this remarkable crescendo…The ending had me breathless…an awesome book.”—Roxane Gay, author of An Untamed State

“Think Interstellar, think Prometheus. We have a destiny waiting for us among the stars, and now it’s calling to us. A great genre debut, and beautifully written: an unfolding alien mystery, and complex, utterly believable characters. You will want to believe.”—Stephen Baxter, National Bestselling Author of Ultima

“Filled with wonders, revelations, and edge-of-the-seat suspense, Planetfall is a fascinating, heartbreaking exploration of love and loneliness set against an awe-inspiring backdrop. An instant classic of the genre.”—Gareth L. Powell, BSFA Award-winning author of Ack-Ack Macaque

“A strange but mesermizing book in which almost nothing is as it seems…Reeads at once like a character study, a mystery, a hard science-fiction tale about the colonists on an alien world, and a surrealist science fiction about alien life. Above all, this is a novel about the price of secrets.”—RT Book Reviews

“This heartbreaking adventure is a tragedy of science and faith…[Newman] carefully manages her pacing until events make each revelation as inevitable as it is destructive.”—Publishers Weekly

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Emma Newman
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top