Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
Pimp by Ken Bruen and Jason Starr

Pimp

Best Seller
Pimp by Ken Bruen and Jason Starr
Paperback $9.95
Mar 15, 2016 | ISBN 9781783295692

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Mar 15, 2016 | ISBN 9781783295692

    Also available from:

  • Mar 15, 2016 | ISBN 9781783295708

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“To add to the already outlandish black comedy, the authors make liberal use of a wide variety of celebrity’s names to further illustrate the absurd situations portrayed, as well as double- (and) triple-crosses, blunders, miscalculations, violence, sex and blackmail. All in good fun.” - Midwest Book Review

“Fast-paced, engrossingly entertaining, Pimp is outrageously funny.” -  New York Journal of Books

“In Bruen and Starr’s scattershot fourth Max Fisher noir (after 2008’s The Max), a new designer drug called PIMP (an acronym for peyoteinsulin,mescaline, and psychosis) is poised to give the ne’er-do-well New York City “businessman” (i.e., drug dealer) another shot at the big time. Since the first book in the series, 2006’s Bust, in which Max and his secretary, Angela Petrakos, plotted to kill his wife, Max has fallen on hard times, appearing after his plastic surgery “like Philip Seymour Hoffman after the autopsy.” Meanwhile, Angela has stumbled as well, making a living in porn. But she’s caught a break, too. In a metafictional twist, a movie of Bust is in heated development, and she’s determined to produce and star. The usual torrent of pop culture references (and relentless self-references) heap satire on filmmaking and crime writing as Bruen and Starr take a comic look back at their initial collaboration. Longtime fans may enjoy the 10th-anniversary antics, but new readers might want to start with Bust and work their way up.” - Publishers Weekly

“I want to kill these guys—except I can’t stop laughing long enough.”
—Lee Child
 
“Downright hilarious and bloodthirsty in the best possible way.
With all the dirt and more you could ask about Hollywood
and the world of crime publishing.”
—Maxim Jakubowski
 
“Perfect for those who like to laugh while the blood flows.”
—Booklist

“You won’t put this delightfully twisted novel down until the last hot page, and then reluctantly.” - Marvin Minkler First Editions

“PIMP is a wild ride of sheer fun and entertainment. Fans of both Bruen and Starr will love this book…. Hard Case Crime once again proves why they are the greatest hard-boiled and noir publishing house in the world.” - BookReporter 

“This hilarious series and its hapless, deluded main characters is like no other in the entire contemporary crime fiction world.” - Bookgasm

Back to Top