Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

A Fine Imitation

A Fine Imitation by Amber Brock
Paperback
Jan 03, 2017 | 320 Pages
See All Formats (2) +
  • Paperback $16.00

    Jan 03, 2017 | 320 Pages

  • Ebook $11.99

    May 03, 2016 | 320 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

“Money. Sex. Intrigue. Amber Brock’s debut has all the trappings of a page-turning work of historical fiction.”
– InStyle

“Brock’s introspective characters, satisfying sub-plots, and unexpected—but justified—twists elevate the novel from a period romance to a suspenseful peek inside high society’s gilded cage.”
– Historical Novels Review

“If you love The Great Gatsby, this is your read.”
– theSkimm

“There’s never a dull moment in this debut novel centered on an intriguing and tightly woven story line. Vera’s struggles are highly relatable, and the anguish she feels will resonate with countless readers. This surefire hit is certain to be beloved by fans of Beatriz Williams’s Along the Infinite Sea and Anton DiSclafani’s The After Party. 
Library Journal, starred


“An absorbing tale of art, deception, romance, and forbidden desire.”
 Publishers Weekly

“Told from the inside of the gilded cage, A Fine Imitation explores one Manhattan socialite’s growing realization that who she’s been brought up to be is increasingly at odds with who she is. Although set in a rarified corner of the early twentieth century, this lush, incisive debut novel explores the universal choice between doing what is right versus what is expected.” 
— Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, New York Times bestselling author of Bittersweet

“In A Fine Imitation, Amber Brock gives us a portrait of a woman and her times that shines with authenticity and charm. Women especially must read it–here we are, ladies, each and every one of us.”
— Anne Rivers Siddons, New York Times bestselling author of Low Country

“Rich in color and drama, A Fine Imitation is a sharp and absorbing period piece that skillfully portrays the tensions of social class and love. Fans of Amor Towles and Laura Moriarty will adore Amber Brock—a spellbinding new voice in historical fiction.”
— Erika Robuck, national bestselling author of Hemingway’s Girl

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top