Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Howling Dark

Best Seller
Howling Dark by Christopher Ruocchio
Hardcover
Jul 16, 2019 | 688 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Hardcover $27.00

    Jul 16, 2019 | 688 Pages

  • Ebook $12.99

    Jul 16, 2019 | 688 Pages

Product Details

Praise

Praise for the Sun Eater series:

Empire of Silence is epic science fiction at its most genuinely epic. Ruocchio has made something fascinating here, and I can’t wait to see what he does next.” —James S.A. Corey, New York Times-bestselling author of The Expanse novels

“Christopher Ruocchio’s Empire of Silence is epic-scale space opera in the tradition of Iain M. Banks and Frank Herbert’s Dune, without being a clone of either of them. His is a welcome new voice in science fiction.” —Eric Flint, author of the bestselling 1632 series

Empire of Silence has the sweep and political complexity of Dune (though no sandworms). It builds to a blazing climax, followed by a satisfying conclusion. I recommend the book.” —David Drake, bestselling author of the RCN Series

Empire of Silence is a rich tapestry of future history and worldbuilding, a galactic-sized story of a hero, a tyrant, but portrayed as a man.” —Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times-bestselling author of The Dark Between the Stars
 
Empire of Silence packs in action and erudition in equal measure. This is a gripping first installment in a space opera that delivers both high-adrenaline thrills and hard-earned wisdom about the human spirit.” —D.J. Butler, author of Witchy Eye

“A richly imagined epic, briskly and vividly told.” —R.M. Meluch, author of the Tour of the Merrimack series
 
A craftsman of rare ability, Christopher Ruocchio lures you into a future filled with danger, action, irony, vaulting prose, and a few, precious dollops of hope.” —David Brin, author of Earth and The Postman 
 
“With the scope of Dune and a confessional, first-person voice that puts us into the mind of a possible madman, this is space opera at its most riveting and grandiose.” —B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Review

“Space opera fans will savor the rich details of Ruocchio’s far-future debut, which sets the scene for a complicated series…. Readers who like a slow-building story with a strong character focus will find everything they’re looking for in this series opener.” —Publishers Weekly

“Although stretched across a vast array of planets, the story line is often more focused on the intimate than on the expanse, giving it a wonderful emotional punch. This wow book is a must for fans of Pierce Brown and Patrick Rothfuss.” —Library Journal (starred review)

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top