Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Record of a Night too Brief

Best Seller
Record of a Night too Brief by Hiromi Kawakami
Paperback $13.95
Dec 05, 2017 | ISBN 9781782272717

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Dec 05, 2017 | ISBN 9781782272717

    Also available from:

  • Dec 05, 2017 | ISBN 9781782272724

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“A supersurreal triad of stories. . . Kawakami marks the literary map of Japan with a warning that beyond here lie dragons—or snakes and ghosts, at any rate. Astonishing, strange, and wonderful. ” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Fans of Haruki Murakami and Banana Yoshimoto will enjoy immersing themselves in Kawakami’s magical worlds.” — Booklist

“the author successfully juxtaposes elements of contemporary Japan — in Kawakami’s case, postmodern Japan, with its high-rise apartment buildings, highway service areas, radio stock market reports, and advertising jingles blaring from parade-float loudspeakers — with myths and folklore that gesture toward a lost, pre-modern imaginary.” —Los Angeles Review of Books

“Talking animals, transformations into trees and horses, and a melancholic mood of loss and love make it easy to see why Kawakami is one of the more exciting voices in contemporary Japanese literature.” — Thrillist

“A truly fantastical story…rewards with rich imagery that will challenge anyone’s powers of imagination.” — Japan Society Journal (UK)

“At once funny and humane. . . the author’s estranging fiction is bewitching. If Japan were in need of a Lewis Carroll, look no further.” — South China Morning Post

“Baffling, unsettling and haunting, these stories have a dreamlike atmosphere.” — The Lady (UK Magazine)

“A truly fantastical story… rewards with rich imagery that will challenge anyone’s powers of imagination.” — Japan Society Magazine

Be the first to know!
More from Hiromi Kawakami and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Hiromi Kawakami and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top