Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Record of a Night too Brief by Hiromi Kawakami
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Record of a Night too Brief

Best Seller
Record of a Night too Brief by Hiromi Kawakami
Paperback $13.95
Dec 05, 2017 | ISBN 9781782272717

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Dec 05, 2017 | ISBN 9781782272717

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Dec 05, 2017 | ISBN 9781782272724

    Buy from Other Retailers:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“A supersurreal triad of stories. . . Kawakami marks the literary map of Japan with a warning that beyond here lie dragons—or snakes and ghosts, at any rate. Astonishing, strange, and wonderful. ” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Fans of Haruki Murakami and Banana Yoshimoto will enjoy immersing themselves in Kawakami’s magical worlds.” — Booklist

“the author successfully juxtaposes elements of contemporary Japan — in Kawakami’s case, postmodern Japan, with its high-rise apartment buildings, highway service areas, radio stock market reports, and advertising jingles blaring from parade-float loudspeakers — with myths and folklore that gesture toward a lost, pre-modern imaginary.” —Los Angeles Review of Books

“Talking animals, transformations into trees and horses, and a melancholic mood of loss and love make it easy to see why Kawakami is one of the more exciting voices in contemporary Japanese literature.” — Thrillist

“A truly fantastical story…rewards with rich imagery that will challenge anyone’s powers of imagination.” — Japan Society Journal (UK)

“At once funny and humane. . . the author’s estranging fiction is bewitching. If Japan were in need of a Lewis Carroll, look no further.” — South China Morning Post

“Baffling, unsettling and haunting, these stories have a dreamlike atmosphere.” — The Lady (UK Magazine)

“A truly fantastical story… rewards with rich imagery that will challenge anyone’s powers of imagination.” — Japan Society Magazine

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Hiromi Kawakami
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top