Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

The King of Fools

The King of Fools by Frédéric Dard
Paperback
Sep 05, 2017 | 193 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $13.95

    Sep 05, 2017 | 193 Pages

  • Ebook $9.99

    Sep 05, 2017 | 193 Pages

Product Details

Praise

“sure to appeal to fans of Agatha Christie, Raymond Chandler and Georges Simenon. . . A slim novel with laconic prose and a stunning plot, The King of Fools will keep many a mystery lover up too late–and waiting eagerly for the next novel of Dard’s to be translated into English.” – Jessica Howard, bookseller at Bookmans, in Shelf Awareness

“A book about a love story gone bad … charming and engaging far beyond the plot details.” — International Crime Fiction

“The French master of noir.” The Observer

“Alongside the Maigret novels of Georges Simenon there is a rich vein of period French crime still to be tapped. Frédéric Dard is a case in point.” Daily Mail

“The literary descendant of Simenon and Celine.” Le Figaro

“No question: for me, he was the greatest.” — Philippe Geluck

“France’s most popular post-war author.” L’Express

“His language is cutting, his point-of-view original and his verdict uncompromising… One of the few twentieth-century authors to win both critical acclaim and great popularity.” Solidarité Militaire

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top