Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
Charles Bovary, Country Doctor by Jean Améry

Charles Bovary, Country Doctor

Charles Bovary, Country Doctor by Jean Améry
Paperback
Sep 04, 2018 | 176 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $14.95

    Sep 04, 2018 | 176 Pages

  • Ebook $9.99

    Sep 04, 2018 | 176 Pages

Product Details

Praise

“How lucky we are that this essay-novel of Jean Améry’s, circling around Flaubert’s tragically uxorious country doctor, poor dim Charles with his beating heart and ugly hat, is available to English readers now in a nimble translation by Adrian Nathan West. In his half-fictional monologue, half-philosophical tract, Améry interrogates literature and realism through his obsession with this side character in not just a novel but the novel. A meditation on failure and the loser to rival Thomas Bernhard’s.” —Kate Zambreno

“Améry’s book, nimbly translated from the German by Adrian Nathan West, is a defense of both Charles Bovary and of the qualities that Flaubert is so keen to ridicule: moderation, decency, responsibility…there’s a satisfying feeling of delayed justice in this brief, thought-provoking book. All of us, fools that we are, should have such eloquent advocates.” —Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

“This is the first English translation of the work, which follows in the tradition of Jean Rhys’ Wide Sargasso Sea and John Gardner’s Grendel, stand-alone novels—not prequels or sequels—approaching a prior tale from a point of view more sympathetic to a major character than that taken in the original…readers will appreciate Améry’s valiant efforts to rehabilitate Charles Bovary and his conventional cohort in a work which is difficult to categorize and even harder to forget.” —Kirkus Reviews

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top