Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Girl Town by Casey Nowak and Carolyn Nowak
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Girl Town

Best Seller
Girl Town by Casey Nowak and Carolyn Nowak
Paperback $19.99
Nov 06, 2018 | ISBN 9781603094382

Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Nov 06, 2018 | ISBN 9781603094382

    Buy from Other Retailers:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

WINNER of 2019 IGNATZ Award for OUTSTANDING COLLECTION
Paste Magazine’s 25 Best Comic Books of 2018

The Beat’s 100 Best Comics of the Decade

“Nowak tosses off more wildly imaginative ideas per page than some creators have over their entire careers.” — Library Journal (starred review)

“These stories… illuminate something profoundly familiar and deeply resonant about women’s interactions, relationships, and ways of being in the world… Though their playful art, bright colors, and sly humor might make this seem light and breezy, there are poignant, surprising undercurrents here, and they are simply captivating.” — Booklist (starred review)

“Spellbinding… The girls in this book are flawed, unique, and complex… Girl Town is a cerebral, spirited work of art.” — Foreword Reviews (starred review)

“Magical in the tradition of Allende, Borges, and Okazaki… You don’t finish the stories collected here so much as emerge from them: wistful, yearning, and as from all the best dreams, changed.” — The Verge (Best of 2018)

“Messy in the best, most invigorating way… Girl Town, like its protagonists, is caught in a swell of uncertain feelings, and will stick with you long after you’ve finished the short stories within.” — Paste (Best of 2018)

“Exquisitely illustrated… captures the intensity and the absurdities of female relationships.” — Publishers Weekly (Best of 2018 Critics Poll)

“Each story is quirky and thoughtful… deeply Millennial in every way possible.” — Tor.com (Best of 2018)

“Poignant and funny.” — Barnes & Noble (Best of the Month)

“On top of being incredibly charming, Girl Town is also full of some incredibly strong characters.” —CBR

“Nowak’s comics always hook me from the first panel. It’s such a joy to be surprised, entertained, and touched by the sexy, sweet, fully-realized worlds they create in each of their stories.” — Lisa Hanawalt, creator of Tuca & Bertie

“I raise my glass, tip my hat, and set off a million dollars worth of fireworks to Casey Nowak’s electric brain, electric fingers and eclectic, electric storytelling smarts. What a wise, sad, funny, exhilarating book!” — Kelly Link, author of Get in Trouble and Magic for Beginners

Awards

Eisner Awards NOMINEE 2019

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Be the first to know!
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top