Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
Wilder Girls by Rory Power
Hardcover
Jul 09, 2019 | ISBN 9780525645580
See All Formats (2) +
  • Paperback $10.99

    Jun 02, 2020 | ISBN 9780525645610 | Young Adult

  • Hardcover $18.99

    Jul 09, 2019 | ISBN 9780525645580 | Young Adult

  • Ebook $10.99

    Jul 09, 2019 | ISBN 9780525645603 | Young Adult

Product Details

Praise

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

“Power’s evocative, haunting, and occasionally gruesome debut will challenge readers to ignore its bewitching presence.”Booklist, Starred Review

★ “This gritty, lush debut chronicling psychological and environmental tipping points…weaves a chilling narrative that disrupts readers’ expectations through an expertly crafted, slow-burn reveal of the deadly consequences of climate change….Part survival thriller, part post-apocalyptic romance, and part ecocritical feminist manifesto, a staggering gut punch of a book.”Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

An ode to empowering women and a testament to the strength of female bonds….Far more than just an unsettling horror story, this powerful debut novel about a strange disease at an all-girls boarding school explores female empowerment, friendship and survival with tenacity and brilliance.”Shelf Awareness, Starred Review

Electric prose, compelling relationships, and visceral horror illuminate Power’s incisive debut…[and  its] environmental and feminist themes are resonant, particularly the immeasurable costs of experimentation on female bodies, and the power of female solidarity and resilience amid ecological and political turmoil.”— Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

Tightly coiled narration moves between quietly reserved to vividly but coldly detailed, doubling the horror.”Bulletin

Your new favorite book.“-Cosmopolitan

“Everything about this thrilling, unnerving debut will make you want to immediately read it. For fans of Mindy McGinnis and Gillian French.”—Paste

Wilder Girls is so sharp and packs so much emotion in such wise ways. I’m convinced we’re about to witness the emergence of a major new literary star.” —Jeff VanderMeer, author of the New York Times bestseller Annihilation

“Wilder Girls is the bold, imaginative, emotionally wrenching horror novel of my dreams—one that celebrates the resilience of girls and the earthshaking power of their friendships. An eerie, unforgettable triumph.”—Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

A nightmarish survival story that’s as much literary fiction as it is young adult…I couldn’t look away.”Casey McQuiston, New York Times bestselling author of Red, White, and Royal Blue

“The eeriness of Raxter Island permeates every scene, and Rory Power’s characters are fierce and honest, blazing from the pages. This is a groundbreaking speculative story—brutal and beautiful, raw and unflinching. I adored this book.”—Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil

“A feminist, LGBT+, sci-fi-horror story with all the tantalizing elements of gore, mystery, war, and love you can ask for. Real, flawed, brave girls against a world gone mad. A shudderingly good read!” —Dawn Kurtagich, author of Teeth in the Mist

Back to Top