Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Grace After Henry

Best Seller
Grace After Henry by Eithne Shortall
Paperback
Mar 12, 2019 | 384 Pages
See All Formats (2) +
  • Paperback $16.00

    Mar 12, 2019 | 384 Pages

  • Ebook $11.99

    Mar 12, 2019 | 384 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

“An engrossing, surprising, and empowering story about the complexities of love, grief, and family. The characters were so beautifully developed that by the time I finished reading, I felt like I’d known them forever.”—Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost

“This is the best kind of book, with a blend of sharp humor and dark grief that strikes a pitch-perfect note of poignancy. . . . An absolute treat of a novel.” Lolly Winston, author of Good Grief

“Full of heart, this bittersweet tale examines love after loss.”—Woman’s World

“A poignant love story . . . Bittersweet and charming, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.  “ —Shelf Awareness

“A huge hit in the U.K., Irish author Eithne Shortall’s Dublin-set romance novel allows its characters to experience grief with a mix of lightheartedness and gravity.”Marie Claire

“Is it possible for a novel about grief to be this enchanting? Shortall’s extraordinary debut is about the kind of shocking tragedy that shatters your life, about the ghosts  and people we cling to for solace, and about how, when we truly open our lives to loss, life actually becomes deeper, richer, and all the more precious. A gorgeously written, haunting reminder that nothing is ever really lost.”—Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World

“This book is a poignant and touching account of one woman moving on after great tragedy. Shortall’s American debut does not go for easy solutions but shows how grief manifests differently for those who experience it.”—Booklist (starred review)

“Insightful…Shortall’s thought-provoking potentialities combined with her perceptive characterizations are certain to keep Grace and Andy in the reader’s mind for a long time.”—Publishers Weekly

A witty, heartbreaking, life-affirming, gorgeous charmer of a novel about love and loss and letting go. I couldn’t put it down, and I can’t stop thinking about the characters, and I can’t wait to give copies to all the people I love.”—Nancy Thayer, bestselling author of A Nantucket Wedding

“Fans of Jojo Moyes and Cecelia Ahern will adore Grace After Henry, a story of life after loss that brims with a lovable cast of characters, humor, and lots of heart. I recommend you have tissues at the ready and a phone within reach to call your friends!  This emotionally rich, satisfying read is sure to put Eithne Shortall novels at the top of your TBR.”—Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Husband Hour

“Readers who loved Sense & Sensibility’s inquiries into the possibility of loving twice will fall head over heels for this book.” Bustle

“Charming and heartfelt, Eithne Shortall’s Grace After Henry is the unconventional love story—complete with quirky characters and tissue-worthy moments—you won’t want to miss! A lovely, moving read.”—Karma Brown, bestselling author of The Life Lucy Knew

“A touching, beautifully written story about losing love and finding it again in an unexpected way. I couldn’t put it down—I was reading the book at two in the morning with a little flashlight, so I wouldn’t wake up my husband.”—Mary Simses, author of The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Café

“Brilliant….A terrific read and superior plot!”—Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top