Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Black Jersey

Best Seller
The Black Jersey by Jorge Zepeda Patterson
Hardcover
Jun 25, 2019 | ISBN 9781984801067
See All Formats (2) +
  • Hardcover $27.00

    Jun 25, 2019 | ISBN 9781984801067

  • Ebook $13.99

    Jun 25, 2019 | ISBN 9781984801074

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Black Jersey

Product Details

Praise

“Although the amateur bicyclists I know are generally nice people, the professionals depicted in this thriller about murder and mayhem at the Tour de France are anything but. . . . Does Patterson’s shocker of a denouement inspire hope for the future of professional bike racing? Hardly.”The Washington Post
 
“During the summer my husband often rides in a 50-mile bike race in the Northwoods. Riding that distance never appealed to me. If I’m going 50 miles, it’s in a car with said husband driving, snacks and a book on my lap.
But I got such an adrenaline rush from reading Jorge Zepeda Patterson’s thriller The Black Jersey, about a murderer stalking the Tour de France, that I biked around Tosa yesterday.”Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

“[A] gripping behind-the-scenes thriller.” Minneapolis Star-Tribune
 
“[The] ability to satisfy multiple audiences while presenting something fresh makes The Black Jersey a definite winner. . . . Adventure and mystery fans of many stripes . . . cycling fans, of course . . . and anyone who just likes a good story with solid characters and intense human drama will enjoy it.”New York Journal of Books

“Set during the Tour de France, this thrilling mystery from Mexican author Patterson boasts as many twists and turns as the treacherous bicycle race that winds through the Alps and the Pyrenees. . . . This meticulously plotted novel about riders willing to die—and possibly kill—to win cycling’s biggest race will have readers guessing until the very last page. Patterson should win a wider American audience with this outing.”Publishers Weekly

“A brilliant and devious criminal turns the Tour de France into a life-or-death race. . . . Patterson offers complex character portraits, a dramatic depiction of the Tour de France, and a nifty whodunit.”Kirkus Reviews

“The fast pace and numerous plot twists will keep readers in suspense until the end, when the cyclists cross the finish line at the Champs-Élysées.”Booklist
 
“For fans of Le Tour, Jorge Zepeda Patterson has crafted the perfect mystery novel, and for all mystery fans he opens up the fascinating and ferocious world of bike racing. The Black Jersey is a feat of storytelling, as fast-paced as any stage of the Tour de France, and with an ending ten times more unpredictable and exciting.”—Mark Pryor, author of the Hugo Marston mystery novels
 
“Jorge Zepeda Patterson writes with true storytelling gusto. Whether you own a bike or not, The Black Jersey will pull you into the fascinating, hermetic world of professional cycling and keep you out of breath to the very end. Highly recommended!”—Charles Todd, author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge and Bess Crawford Mysteries

Back to Top