Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

In the Valley

Best Seller
In the Valley by Ron Rash
Paperback $16.00
Jul 13, 2021 | ISBN 9780525564225

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jul 13, 2021 | ISBN 9780525564225

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Aug 04, 2020 | ISBN 9780385544306

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from In the Valley

Product Details

Praise

*Named a Garden & Gun and Atlanta Journal Constitution best book of the year*
*Winner of the 2020 Thomas Robinson Prize for Southern Literature*

“Mesmerizing...In the Valley takes Serena to such a fever pitch of destruction that in a lesser writer’s hands it might seem overheated. But Rash maintains the deep keel that has always distinguished him…He’s one of the best living American writers, and his laconic understatement is much more powerful than excess…Haunting and darkly funny.”
—Janet Maslin, New York Times Book Review

“The power of Rash’s stories lies in [the] small moments of connection amid all the noise of rupture and heartbreak. Rash writes with a direct precision that puts the reader at ease. Here is a storyteller who not only knows his characters, but knows all the details around them a well.”
—Rion Amilcar Scott, New York Times Book Review

“One of the great American authors at work today.”
The New York Times

“As good as any contemporary American novelist I’ve read.”
The Wall Street Journal

“A riveting storyteller.”
Washington Post

“Rash’s spectacular stories may originate in the peculiar soil of Appalachia, but their reach and their rewards are vast.”
—NPR’s Fresh Air

“Complex tales of human failings and triumphs…Sacrifice, revenge, redemption and small acts of humanity play out to heart-wrenching effects in his hands. [The collection] promises a small glimmer of hope for humanity, and that’s something we could use a dose of right now.”
Atlanta Journal-Constitution

“Pure craft…An accomplished book by a grounded, unsentimental master.”
Highbrow Magazine

“A gift for his legions of fans [that] could also usher in a new crop of Rash readers and serve as a fitting intro to his work…Rash’s prose [is] economical and by turns tense, tender, and unsentimentally searing.”
WNC Magazine

“Rash’s best genre…Rash is expert at revealing the sword of vengeance’s double edge—how honed it is, how it cuts whomever wields it…A brace of strong stories, and the novella’s a fine, suspenseful contribution to the thriving genre of Appalachian mayhem.”
Kirkus (starred review)

“Rash’s lyrical, atmospheric collection, with its strong sense of place, will appeal to readers of Rick Bragg and Jesmyn Ward.”
Booklist (starred review)

“Revelatory…In simple but eloquent prose, Rash describes the vulnerabilities, fears, and desires of his characters and shows how often they unite persons from vastly different walks of life and social strata. The skillful craftsmanship of these tales and their subtle but powerful climaxes make for profoundly moving reading.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Haunting…Rash profoundly immerses readers in the Appalachia he calls home. His latest collection is highly recommended not only for readers who value protecting our environment but also for anyone who enjoys well-told stories of justice and revenge.” 
BookPage

“At turns dark, craggy, and heart-wrenching, Rash’s writing is never easy, but it is also lovely, moving, and rich in history and culture, just like the Appalachian region it so beautiful captures.”
Library Journal

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Ron Rash
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top