Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

In the Valley

Best Seller
In the Valley by Ron Rash
Hardcover $26.95
Aug 04, 2020 | ISBN 9780385544290

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Aug 04, 2020 | ISBN 9780385544290

    Also available from:

  • Aug 04, 2020 | ISBN 9780385544306

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from In the Valley

Product Details

Praise

“Mesmerizing...In the Valley takes Serena to such a fever pitch of destruction that in a lesser writer’s hands it might seem overheated. But Rash maintains the deep keel that has always distinguished him…He’s one of the best living American writers, and his laconic understatement is much more powerful than excess…Haunting and darkly funny.”
—Janet Maslin, New York Times Book Review

“One of the great American authors at work today.”
The New York Times

“As good as any contemporary American novelist I’ve read.”
The Wall Street Journal

“A riveting storyteller.”
Washington Post

“Rash’s spectacular stories may originate in the peculiar soil of Appalachia, but their reach and their rewards are vast.”
—NPR’s Fresh Air

“Rash’s best genre…Rash is expert at revealing the sword of vengeance’s double edge—how honed it is, how it cuts whomever wields it…A brace of strong stories, and the novella’s a fine, suspenseful contribution to the thriving genre of Appalachian mayhem.”
Kirkus (starred review)

“Rash’s lyrical, atmospheric collection, with its strong sense of place, will appeal to readers of Rick Bragg and Jesmyn Ward.”
Booklist (starred review)

“Revelatory…In simple but eloquent prose, Rash describes the vulnerabilities, fears, and desires of his characters and shows how often they unite persons from vastly different walks of life and social strata. The skillful craftsmanship of these tales and their subtle but powerful climaxes make for profoundly moving reading.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Haunting…Rash profoundly immerses readers in the Appalachia he calls home. His latest collection is highly recommended not only for readers who value protecting our environment but also for anyone who enjoys well-told stories of justice and revenge.” 
BookPage

“At turns dark, craggy, and heart-wrenching, Rash’s writing is never easy, but it is also lovely, moving, and rich in history and culture, just like the Appalachian region it so beautiful captures.”
Library Journal

Back to Top