Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

Best Seller
The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray
Paperback
Jan 14, 2020 | ISBN 9781984802446
See All Formats (3) +
  • Paperback $16.00

    Jan 14, 2020 | ISBN 9781984802446

  • Hardcover $26.00

    Feb 19, 2019 | ISBN 9781984802439

  • Ebook $12.99

    Feb 19, 2019 | ISBN 9781984802453

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

Product Details

Praise

“The inequities of the justice system, the fortitude of women of color, and the bittersweet struggle to connect are rendered ravishly in this bighearted novel.” Oprah Magazine

“Gray’s nuanced, lyrical debut is a moving examination of the ties that bind and—nearly as often—bless.”—People

“[An] intimate family saga sure to appeal to fans of Tayari Jones and Celeste Ng.”Entertainment Weekly

“Masterful debut…a poetically written story.”—Delia Owens, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Where the Crawdads Sing

“I was immediately taken by the power and honesty of Anissa Gray’s voice. She is a writer to watch, and this debut is not to be missed!”
Terry McMillan, New York Times bestselling author of I Almost Forgot About You and Waiting to Exhale

“If you enjoyed An American Marriage, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls…an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”The Washington Post  
 
“As in Tayari Jones’s best-selling An American Marriage, Gray uses imprisonment as the backdrop for a disarmingly compelling story that skirts easy answers and sentimentality. Conversational in tone and difficult in subject, Care and Feeding tells not just an American story but several important ones.” —Vogue
 
“Gray’s absorbing novel is about family and the things we hunger for.”Real Simple
 
“Anissa Gray’s debut is heralded as “The Mothers meets An American Marriage.” If that’s not enough to sell you on this stunning novel about family and relationships, we don’t know what will.” HelloGiggles
 
“[A] stark, emotional story you don’t want to miss.”—Bustle 
 

“A trio of sisters navigate the tricky waters of forgiveness in Gray’s heartfelt, beautifully written debut…Get an extra copy for your best friend or your own sister; this is one you’re going to want to talk about.”—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

“Gray beautifully captures the way strong women can piece a community back together, taking care of their loved ones while still figuring out how to care for themselves. A graceful debut that feels timely and important.”—Karin Tanabe, author of The Gilded Years

“This is perfect for fans of Brit Bennett’s The Mothers; readers will be deeply affected by this story of a family wrestling to support itself.”Publisher’s Weekly

“Gray’s engrossing and moving debut novel considers secrets and lies and their effect on the families of three sisters.”—Booklist 
 
“Gray manages a large cast of characters with ease, sharply differentiating between the voices of hardheaded Althea, shrewd Viola, and hesitating Lillian, who narrate the novel in alternating chapters.”—Kirkus

“[A] moving portrait of a troubled family that would be an excellent book club pick.”—PureWow
 

Back to Top