Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
American Breakdown by David Bromwich
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

American Breakdown

Best Seller
American Breakdown by David Bromwich
Hardcover $19.95
Jun 25, 2019 | ISBN 9781788737265

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Jun 25, 2019 | ISBN 9781788737265

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 25, 2019 | ISBN 9781788737289

    Buy from Other Retailers:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“David Bromwich is our elegant American muse, our Boswell, whose incisive and caustic reporting on the political scene and the presidency often evokes Hunter S. Thompson. There is much to learn, and enjoy, in American Breakdown.”
—Seymour M. Hersh

“One of the most incisive writers in America today.”
—Edward Mendelson

“Bromwich is particularly sharp on the way government spokesmen wrap the realities of massacre, torture, and gratuitous cruelty in euphemism … A critic in the tradition of Hazlitt and Orwell.”
—Alan Ryan

“For several decades, David Bromwich has stood out among American critics as one of the most daring and knowledgeable challengers of received opinion and orthodoxies.”
—Margery Sabin

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from David Bromwich
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top