Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Turnout by Megan Abbott

The Turnout

Best Seller
The Turnout by Megan Abbott
Hardcover $27.00
Aug 03, 2021 | ISBN 9780593084908

Also available from:

See All Formats (4) +
  • Aug 03, 2021 | ISBN 9780593414347

    Also available from:

  • Aug 03, 2021 | ISBN 9780593084908

    Also available from:

  • Aug 03, 2021 | ISBN 9780593084915

    Available from:

  • CD $40.00

    Aug 03, 2021 | ISBN 9780593409428

    690 Minutes

    Also available from:

  • Aug 03, 2021 | ISBN 9780593408612

    701 Minutes

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Turnout

Product Details

Praise

One of:
TIME’s 36 News Books You Need to Read This Summer
Entertainment Weekly’s Highly Anticipated
Washington Post’s Eight Thrillers and Mysteries to Read this Summer
The Boston Globe‘s Summer Reading 2021 Picks
Vogue’s Best Books to Read This Summer
Real Simple’s Up-All-Night Thrillers
Refinery29’s 38 Books You’ll Want to Read This Summer

New York Post’s 30 Best Books on Our Summer Reading List in 2021
Seattle Times’ Most Anticipated Books of 2021
Adore Magazine’s New Releases to Enjoy this Season
Lit Hub’s Most Anticipated Books of 2021

Reader’s Digest 50 Best Fiction Books to Read This Year
CrimeReads’ Most Anticipated Crime Books of 2021
Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2021: Mystery/Thriller
BookPage’s Most Anticipated Mysteries and Thrillers of 2021
BookRiot’s 20 Must-Read Crime Novels to Keep You Up At Night
Booktrib’s Most Anticipated
SheReads’s Most Anticipated 2021 Summer Thrillers for your Beach Bag

“Abbott—so good at plucking the dark and twisted strands of female friendships and rivalries in books like You Will Know Me and Give Me Your Hand—fashions her unsettling new novel around a ballet academy run by three high-strung former dancers, two of them sisters.” The New York Times

“Abbott is a legend for good reason. No one combines the style of classic noir with the psyches of sophisticated men and women who are willing to do anything—anything—to succeed better than Abbott. Her latest is a dizzyingly fascinating story of a family-owned dance studio and the weight of unrequited ambition. An instant classic.” Washington Post

“Abbott casts her disquieting fictional magic as the obsessive dynamics of a self-contained family—sisters Dara and Marie, and Dara’s husband, Charlie—running a small-town, run-down ballet school, collide with the presence of a sinister newcomer.” The Boston Globe

“This is a deliciously creepy thriller about competition and family ties.” Real Simple
 
“There’s no one better than Abbott at exploring issues of femininity and power struggles, and getting at the visceral heart of both. Fans of Black Swan and The Red Shoes are bound to be obsessed.” Refinery29

The Turnout unfolds like a dark fairy tale, unpacking the rigid demands of femininity. Abbott fans and suspense lovers alike won’t be disappointed with this exploration of human frailty and twisted love.” LitHub
 
“At once engaging and unnerving.” Reader’s Digest

“Gut-punching noir…Abbott is pitch-perfect at making the sisters’ complex dynamic and mix of emotions plausible and painful, while capturing the competitiveness and cruelty of children’s ballet, where every young girl wishes to be the center of attention. This look at the darker side of the dance world demonstrates why Abbott has few peers at crafting moving stories of secrets and broken lives.” ­–Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Abbott has a top-notch ability to reveal the dark undercurrents of women’s relationships and sexuality. Her taut, unsettling writing creates tension through the slightest actions and phrases, and keeps the pages turning. This is clever, chilling psychological suspense at its best.” Library Journal (starred review)

“Abbott brilliantly explores the psychosexual undercurrents throbbing throughout this haunting novel, from the dancers’ pointe shoes…through even the Nutcracker itself.” Booklist (starred review)

“The mesmerizing prose will keep you turning the pages. Abbott is a master of thinly veiled secrets often kept by women who rage underneath their delicate exteriors.” Kirkus Reviews

“One of the most well-known and acclaimed thriller writers working today is back with a twisted tale of fraying ties at a family-run ballet studio.” –BookPage

“There’s no one who captures the atmosphere of a tight-knit hothouse world, in all its feverish beauty and brutality, quite like Megan Abbott.” –Tana French, author of The Searcher

“All one needs to know about a Megan Abbott book is that it’s a Megan Abbott book — dreamy, sexy, a deep dive into a subculture that has been exhaustively researched. The Turnout is all those things and more, taking you so far into the world of a small ballet school that you feel the characters’ aches and pains in your joints, your feet, and, most dangerous of all, your heart.” –Laura Lippman, author of Lady in the Lake

“There is not a writer alive who is better at investigating the tension and threat of violence at the center of women’s lives than Megan Abbott. Megan goes into the heart of female spaces and finds the ugly in all that pretty, the dark in all that light, with breath-taking suspense. The Turnout has notes of James M. Cain and Alfred Hitchcock, but it’s better because it’s so fresh and unexpected, so wholly revelatory. I turned page after page, holding my breath in fear, and also excitement, about what might happen in this run-down ballet school, what blood red might be lurking behind all that pink. This is Megan Abbott working at the absolute height of her talent.” –Attica Locke, author of Bluebird, Bluebird and Heaven, My Home

“Megan Abbott is a master of atmosphere, and she captures the Durant School of Ballet—a tinderbox of promise and perfectionism, innuendo and fierce desire, of tension twisted to a breaking point—in all its merciless extravagance. The Turnout is a bewitching climb up a spiral staircase into the inner sanctum of the Durant family, a house of mirrors in which nothing is exactly what it seems. This novel pounds with blood and grips you in its teeth: Megan Abbott is unafraid as ever of the darkness that makes us human.” –Chloe Benjamin, author of The Immortalists

Get the latest updates from Megan Abbott
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top