Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Borges and Me by Jay Parini
Paperback $18.00
Nov 23, 2021 | ISBN 9781984899491

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (3) +
  • Nov 23, 2021 | ISBN 9781984899491

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Aug 18, 2020 | ISBN 9780385545822

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Aug 18, 2020 | ISBN 9780385545839

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Borges and Me

Product Details

Praise

“This is a jewel of a book. . . . A high-style Borgesianmarriage of fiction and history.” —Ian McEwan

“A classic comic-philosophical road story, playfully conscious of its own traditions.” —The Wall Street Journal

“A delicious treat. . . . This reminiscence by Parini, who is now a prolific novelist, biographer and poet, brings Borges more sharply to life than any account I’ve read or heard.” —Michael Greenberg, The New York Times Book Review

“One of the great books of our time.” —Michael Silverblatt, Bookworm, KCRW

“A tender bond forms between the eccentric sage and his caretaker. . . . Fans of both Borges and Parini will delight in this touching coming-of-age memoir.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A captivating chronicle and homage.” —Kirkus Reviews

Borges and Me is a road-trip book like no other, written by someone who certainly didn’t spend his youth the way I did. I loved every minute of reading it. It’s full of wonderful energy and humor, with underpinnings of sadness and seriousness I can’t shake.” —Ann Beattie

“A loving portrait of [a] singular writer. . . . As Parini chronicles their misadventures with the hilarity of hindsight, he palpably re-creates his youthful anxiety and Borges’ own sometimes infuriating sanguinity.” —BookPage

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Jay Parini
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top