Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Waiting for a Star to Fall by Kerry Clare

Waiting for a Star to Fall

Best Seller
Waiting for a Star to Fall by Kerry Clare
Paperback $16.95
Oct 27, 2020 | ISBN 9780385695473

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Oct 27, 2020 | ISBN 9780385695473

    Also available from:

  • Oct 27, 2020 | ISBN 9780385695480

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Waiting for a Star to Fall

Product Details

Praise

“Disturbingly authentic . . . ” —Toronto Star

“Subtly complex, this romantic drama is tailor-made for the #Metoo age.” —Montreal Gazette

“Kerry Clare’s Waiting for a Star to Fall is a love story at its core, though one without an ending written in the stars. It’s about what we believe—and who we believe—and it reveals that we each control our own happiness and destiny. Timely and insightful, Clare has crafted a worthy successor to her memorable debut Mitzi Bytes.” —Karma Brown, #1 bestselling author of Recipe for a Perfect Wife
 
“Kerry Clare has done something spectacular: She’s written a riveting #MeToo novel that is a nuanced celebration of the complexity of human nature. I read it in one morning and will be thinking about it for a long time to come.” —Lauren Mechling, author of How Could She

“Girl falls hard for charismatic, older man. It’s heady and intoxicating. Then he turns out not to be who she thought he was. Like, at all. This is a thrillingly sexy book about that first big, bad love, and the pain of seeing someone for who they really are. Kerry Clare writes about the dark heart of women with a deceptively light touch, one that belies a complexity just below the surface. A diverting and compassionate read.” —Lisa Gabriele, author of The Winters 
 
“Timely and entertaining on the surface—but crack through to its core and discover a deep and thought-provoking meditation on the flaws and foibles of humanity. This book is beautifully, brutally honest, reminded me of being 23, made me forgive myself my lapses in judgment—and, made me long for whatever Kerry Clare will write next. Fans of Emily Giffin and Curtis Sittenfeld take note: This is your next read.” —Marissa Stapley, bestselling author of The Last Resort

“A skillfully told story for our times, Waiting for a Star to Fall takes readers on an emotional journey. Clare’s expert handling of this all-too-familiar yet difficult subject is sure to spark meaningful book club discussions.” —Chantel Guertin, author of the Pippa Greene novels
 
“When Kerry Clare’s Waiting for a Star to Fall landed on my desk, I could not restrain myself and read the entire novel that same day. Taking a now familiar story as her starting point—famous man pummeled by sexual assault allegations—she ventures beyond the headlines, into terrain news stories can’t cover. What gives these mediocre men their outsized confidence? Why do they act with so little regard for others and how do they keep getting away with it? Searching for answers, Clare turns the spotlight on her women characters, the ones who are hurt by these men even as they continue to enable them. A deft examination of power, complicity and accountability, Waiting for a Star to Fall is thoroughly engrossing. Clever and insightful, this book is a sheer delight.” —Sharon Bala, author of The Boat People

“I’m in awe of Kerry Clare’s tender, imaginative care for the characters in Waiting for a Star to Fall. I was right there with them, viscerally in the moment with all their best and worst ideas, especially with Brooke, hoping for what she hoped for even when I worried about the outcome. Such a fully realized, fascinating, enthralling world Clare has created—I was completely enraptured.” —Rebecca Rosenblum, author of So Much Love
 
Waiting for a Star to Fall is the novel we need at this moment: a wonderfully sharp and humane examination of power and betrayal, love and limits. Kerry Clare has told one woman’s story, but many of us will recognize ourselves in this rich portrait.” —Elizabeth Renzetti, Globe and Mail columnist and author of Shrewed: A Wry and Closely Observed Look at the Lives of Women and Girls

“Kerry Clare knows how to tell gripping, nuanced, sharp stories that are rooted in real life. But with Waiting for a Star to Fall, she goes even deeper, digging into the complexities of real life and all the mess, missteps, and mistakes that come with carving your own path to happiness. Timely, insightful, and skillfully written, this memorable story is about love, forgiveness, and deciding your own destiny.” —Nicole Blades, author of Have You Met Nora?

Be the first to know!
More from Kerry Clare and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Kerry Clare and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top