Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado

Fat Chance, Charlie Vega

Best Seller
Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado
Hardcover $18.99
Feb 02, 2021 | ISBN 9780823447176

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jan 04, 2022 | ISBN 9780823451319 | Young Adult

    Also available from:

  • Feb 02, 2021 | ISBN 9780823447176 | Young Adult

    Also available from:

  • Feb 02, 2021 | ISBN 9780823448906 | Young Adult

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

A Cosmopolitan Best New Book of Winter 2020

★ “Charlie’s struggles are authentic and raw while Maldonado’s bright prose makes for a page-turner. . . . An overdue and welcome ingénue.”Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

“Charlie’s emotional arc hits all the right notes, resulting in a warm and insightful coming-of-age tale.”—Publishers Weekly

“Sweet and sincere, Charlie Vega’s journey is a delight.”School Library Journal

Fat Chance, Charlie Vega is an accomplished debut, and its nuanced depictions of first love, a complex mother-daughter relationship and fat acceptance make it stand out.”BookPage 

“With a memorable cast that brings fresh faces and voices to a typically homogenous genre, this title focuses on the positives of the often difficult and confusing high-school experience: genuine friendships and allies, powerful first crushes, and discovering oneself. . . .  Charlie’s optimistic outlook, despite the challenges that come with her identity, will attract a widespread audience of romance lovers and expand their idea of what a romantic lead can look like.”Booklist

“We’re so excited to get our hands on it.”—Buzzfeed

“Readers will appreciate Charlie from the get-go and rejoice when she herself begins to see the Charlie-celebrating light.”The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Fat Chance, Charlie Vega is an utterly heartwarming story of love–of friends, of family, of romance and, most importantly, of oneself.”—Shelf Awareness


“Issues of body positivity and racial and gender identity are dealt with in a light, positive, and totally engrossing manner. This novel is perfect for fans of Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’ (Balzer + Bray 2015) and for any reader who struggles with feeling like they are ‘not enough.'”—School Library Connection


“This book feels like your best friend giving you a hug—it’s warm and sweet and healing.”—Mason Deaver, bestselling author of I Wish You All the Best

“A sweet and cheerful debut, Fat Chance, Charlie Vega moves with rom-com energy and a whole lot of awkward, goofy, chubby-girl-with-a-crush-on-a-boy vibes.”—Gabby Rivera, author of Juliet Takes a Breath and Marvel’s America

Get the latest updates from Crystal Maldonado
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top