Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Lost Girls by Jessica Chiarella
Paperback $17.00
Jul 06, 2021 | ISBN 9780593191095

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jul 06, 2021 | ISBN 9780593191095

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jul 06, 2021 | ISBN 9780593191101

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Lost Girls

Product Details

Praise

One of PopSugar‘s Best Books of 2021

“Elegantly written…The book begins at a leisurely pace, all dark mood and dark character, and then accelerates at a dizzying rate.” The New York Times Book Review

“A dark tale of family, loss and grief, this is a haunting story.” Parkersburg News and Sentinel

“One of the best [books] I have read in a long time. Jessica Chiarella keeps you second-guessing where the story will end and just who the real culprit might have been….[T]he plot is fast-paced and has you turning page after page to figure out what’s next.” Bowling Green Daily News

“Outstanding…Surprising twists accent this poignant story about two women, each with a single-minded goal. Chiarella is a writer to watch.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Readers who enjoy true crime, especially podcasts, as well as thrillers featuring unreliable narrators, will appreciate Chiarella’s haunting story of lost girls, lost women, and revenge.” Library Journal (starred review)

“Engrossing…Chiarella brilliantly blends disturbing past events and the heart-thumping present, throwing the reader into Marti’s twisted and obsessive world. Marti is a sympathetic character despite her self-destructive life choices, and the plot moves steadily without revealing itself prematurely. Readers who expect a neat satisfying conclusion will be disappointed—but enthralled nonetheless. Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins will enjoy this one.”  Booklist

“Chiarella expertly balances Marti’s emotional turmoil and sense of loss with the dark mystery at the heart of The Lost Girls….You can’t help but feel Marti’s anguish, as well as admire her tenacity to uncover the truth despite knowing what she may find….[A] richly textured missing persons story.” BookPage

“Dark, clever and gripping. Starting with its ripped-from-the-headlines opening to its fast and furious descent down the rabbit hole of lies, deceit and revenge, The Lost Girls grabs you by the throat and never lets go. Fans of podcasts, true crime and edgy thrillers must read this book!” –Lisa Gardner, author of Before She Disappeared

The Lost Girls is an up-to-the-minute modern thriller with a true-crime feel and a gritty protagonist unafraid to spit in justice’s eye.” –Alma Katsu, author of Red Widow

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Jessica Chiarella
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top