Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The Light of Luna Park

Best Seller
The Light of Luna Park by Addison Armstrong
Paperback $17.00
Aug 10, 2021 | ISBN 9780593328040

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Aug 10, 2021 | ISBN 9780593328040

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Aug 10, 2021 | ISBN 9780593328057

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Light of Luna Park

Product Details

Praise

Advance Praise for The Light of Luna Park

“Moving…For fans of Kate Moore’s The Radium Girls and Emma Donoghue’s The Pull of the Stars… Armstrong highlights the novelty, frustration, and strength of rebellious action behind a medical marvel we take for granted today.” —Library Journal

“Is there anything better than falling into a novel that asks an ethical question and then answers it with a big story that arrows straight into the question’s heart? No, I would say: Nothing better. What would you do to save a child? Addison Armstrong asks in this assured debut that ushers us deep into a fascinating moment in history where obstetrics and women’s choices and the shadow line between circus and science combine. The Light of Luna Park got me, took me, taught me, and in the end, shook me.”—Sarah Blake, New York Times bestselling author of The Guest Book

“A dual timeline, a fascinating historical setting, a baby, a nurse and above all, courage. This is my kind of story! Thank you, Addison Armstrong, for writing such an intriguing and heartfelt novel.” —Diane Chamberlain, New York Times bestselling author of Big Lies in a Small Town

“A romantic yet historically evocative depiction of two pioneering women’s intertwined lives.” —Kirkus

“Armstrong’s impressive debut chronicles the parallel stories of two strong women who are unafraid to risk their careers to do what’s right….Emotionally powerful. Readers will be touched by this story of courage and love.” —Publishers Weekly

“Armstrong mines a fascinating bit of history… A novel guaranteed to tug at heartstrings while illuminating a daring medical innovation that has saved millions of lives.” —Booklist

“Armstrong’s dual-timeline debut packs a powerful emotional punch…The emotional investment in the two protagonists will keep readers eagerly turning pages. Recommended for all readers, but especially for those who love someone who doesn’t meet society’s definition of ‘worthy.’” —Historical Novel Review

“Armstrong has a strong subject here and wonderful characters whom every reader will admire and care for…Bravo to Addison Armstrong for such a beautiful and heartfelt paean to those in the medical world who used their talents and abilities to change the lives of people for good.” —Bookreporter

“At once a fascinating slice of history and a compelling story filled with relatable characters. Addison Armstrong has woven a beautiful tale around the sacrifices and hard choices made for love, and highlights the work of the extraordinary individuals who stood up against the widespread, harsh beliefs of the time. This is a wonderful debut. Congratulations to Ms. Armstrong!” —Louise Fein, author of Daughter of the Reich

“Compassionate and evocative, filled with fascinating historical detail, The Light of Luna Park is the story of a woman finding the strength to face impossible decisions as she struggles to protect the life of a child.” —Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker’s Gift

The Light of Luna Park is a gripping story of one woman’s determination to save a premature baby and a daughter’s quest to discover the truth about her mother intertwined with the fascinating history of the incubator. It’s an emotional, and at times suspenseful novel about the strength of love and the importance of perseverance that will capture the reader’s heart.” —Georgie Blalock, author of The Other Windsor Girl

“In The Light of Luna Park, author Addison Armstrong re-creates the surreal time when most pre-term babies were cast aside to die, while a few dedicated nurses and a doctor on Coney Island saved them, then offered them as an amusement park sideshow. It’s a story of a grieving daughter-a teacher of special needs children-who must first unravel her own story by uncovering family secrets, before she can understand and fully love herself, her husband, and her students. Taking place over twenty years apart, these two stories collide in an unforgettable, heart-wrenching account of the power of a mother’s love.” —Tracey Enerson Wood, author of international bestseller, The Engineer’s Wife

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Addison Armstrong
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top