Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Picnic In the Ruins by Todd Robert Petersen

Picnic In the Ruins

Best Seller
Picnic In the Ruins by Todd Robert Petersen
Paperback $16.95
Jan 05, 2021 | ISBN 9781640093225

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Jan 05, 2021 | ISBN 9781640093225

    Also available from:

  • Jan 05, 2021 | ISBN 9781640093232

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Library Journal Title to Watch

“A romp populated with a cast of eccentric characters and marked by extreme moments of dark humor [and] delicious irony.” —Allen Pierleoni, The OC Register

“Petersen’s tightly written mystery plays out over the vast, unforgiving terrain on the Utah-Arizona border with a lineup of unforgettable characters . . . Petersen delivers a fast-paced chase over a hostile landscape while underscoring the past and present threats to Native American antiquities. Hang on tight and enjoy the ride.” —Library Journal (starred review) 

“A rollicking mystery . . . Peterson keeps up plenty of action and suspense while also offering philosophical insights on who owns the land. Peterson’s offbeat adventure keeps the reader turning the pages.” —Publishers Weekly

“Part mystery; part quirky, darkly funny, mayhem-filled thriller; and part meditation on what it means to ‘own’ land, artifacts, and the narrative of history in the West . . . A fast-paced, highly entertaining hybrid of Tony Hillerman and Edward Abbey.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Blending dark comedy and crime fiction, Petersen examines a moment in time that exquisitely reveals timeless and far-reaching themes . . . An excellent read for those who enjoy thrillers set in the Southwest and readers interested in the preservation of history and culture.” —Booklist 

“Fantastic . . . This isn’t just a thriller—it’s also one of the funniest books I have read in years . . . This is a perfect read for fans of Elmore Leonard, William Boyle, and The Coen Brothers.” —Liberty Hardy, Book Riot

“Picture a Tony Hillerman-style tableau: a red rock desert beneath a deep azure sky, imbued with the history of the sacred rituals and artifacts of the Southern Paiute. Now add a Tim Dorsey or Carl Hiaasen-esque overlay, awash in desiccated Ford pickup trucks, characters who embody the word ‘characters,’ ulterior motives and belly-rumbling hilarity, and you’ll get an idea of the strange trip you’re about to embark on . . . Beneath all this, Petersen poses some intellectual questions, such as who really ‘owns’ land, what rights and responsibilities such ownership conveys and how the inevitable collisions between titled owners, the public good and the ancient claims of sacred ground should be addressed.” —Bruce Tierney, BookPage

“[A] darkly comic, madcap thriller with overarching social themes . . . Picnic is wildly creative and easily envisioned.” —Lauren O’Brien, Shelf Awareness

“In this twenty-first-century fusion of Zane Grey, Tony Hillerman, and Craig Childs, Todd Robert Petersen gives us a page-turner of a murder mystery.” —Stephen Trimble, editor of Red Rock Stories

“A murderously addictive thrill-ride through the remote, rugged Utah-Arizona borderlands, where looting and vandalism of ancient cultural sites remain all too prevalent.” —Scott Graham, National Outdoor Book Award-winning author of Mesa Verde Victim

“Reading Picnic in the Ruins is like watching a Tarantino film—scenes unfold to reveal a cast of divergent characters who are destined to collide; and when they do, you won’t want to look away. Todd Robert Petersen delivers a roller coaster of a book!” —Margaret Mizushima, award-winning author of the Timber Creek K-9 Mysteries, including Hanging Falls

Be the first to know!
More from Todd Robert Petersen and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Todd Robert Petersen and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top