Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
The Swallowtail Legacy 1: Wreck at Ada's Reef by Michael D. Beil
Add The Swallowtail Legacy 1: Wreck at Ada's Reef to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf
The Swallowtail Legacy 1: Wreck at Ada's Reef by Michael D. Beil
Paperback $10.99
Jan 10, 2023 | ISBN 9781645950493

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jan 10, 2023 | ISBN 9781645950493 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 15, 2022 | ISBN 9781645950486 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Mar 08, 2022 | ISBN 9781645951025 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

★ “Beil’s (A New Recruit) tightly plotted story of family intrigue and blackmail has considerable emotional ballast . . . as Lark realizes the depth of her stepfather’s grief and the realities of prejudice.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

★ “Each character, historic and contemporary, sparks with life. Lark’s process and the reveals are perfectly paced. . . . Most heartwarming, Lark develops feelings of loyalty toward her blended family and uncovers a surprising link to their property. Readers will be hooked—more, please!”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

★ “Michael D. Beil’s delightful middle-grade mystery is itself like an old novel: unhurriedly paced, impeccably written and including many orphaned children. . . . While The Swallowtail Legacy abounds with references to literary classics, it favorably evokes a modern counterpart: Jeanne Birdsall’s The Penderwicks, with its likewise widowed eggheaded father, sprawl of siblings and pets and salvific summer getaway.”Shelf Awareness, Starred Review

“Lark is like any pre-teen, possessing a relatable attitude, observant, and smart. . . she provides strong imagery through her voice. . . . A coming-of-age story about grief and personal growth set against the additional backdrop of an enjoyable mystery.”—School Library Connection


“Fans of mystery will enjoy how Lark goes all out to solve this case. . . . Main characters are well fleshed out, and the author does a wonderful job of bringing this island and its inhabitants to life. . . . An entertaining mystery for fans of Sammy Keyes and Nancy Drew about family, loss, and the importance of ­friendship.”—School Library Journal

“The evolution of Lark’s relationship with her stepfather and siblings is well done, giving the book’s fully realized secondary characters a chance to develop along with the protagonist.”—The Horn Book

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates about Michael D. Beil
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use and understand that Penguin Random House collects certain categories of personal information for the purposes listed in that policy, discloses, sells, or shares certain personal information and retains personal information in accordance with the policy. You can opt-out of the sale or sharing of personal information anytime.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top