Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Down a Dark River by Karen Odden
Add Down a Dark River to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Down a Dark River

Best Seller
Down a Dark River by Karen Odden
Hardcover $26.99
Nov 09, 2021 | ISBN 9781643858692

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Nov 09, 2021 | ISBN 9781643858692

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Nov 09, 2021 | ISBN 9781643858708

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Down a Dark River:
“A harrowing tale of unbridled vice that exposes the dark underbelly of Victorian society.”
Kirkus Reviews 

“[Odden] has created a page-turner that is definitely hard to put down.”
New York Journal of Books

“[A] finely crafted story.”
Seattle Book Review

“Impossible to put down.”
Historical Novel Society

“Superbly written . . . fast paced suspense.”
—Mystery and Suspense

“A must read for mystery fans!”
—Charles Todd, New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Rutledge mysteries

“This twisty-turn-y mystery introducing a new and charismatic detective will delight readers also looking for well-researched history.”
—Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series

“Odden’s latest is intricately plotted and filled with a cast of wonderful characters, including a worthy and relatable hero.”
—Anna Lee Huber, USA Today bestselling author

“A spellbinding, brilliantly plotted Victorian murder mystery, Karen Odden’s Down a Dark River features a fascinating and relatable detective, a cast of complex characters, powerful prose, exceptional attention to historical detail, and enough twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat until the last astonishing page. Highly recommended!”
—Syrie James, bestselling author of The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte

“Sparkling prose, vivid description, a haunting and satisfyingly complex story . . . Down a Dark River is a must read for fans of any genre of crime fiction.” 
—Edwin Hill, author of The Secrets We Share

“Gritty, compelling and vividly written . . . Like Anne Perry, Odden demonstrates a commanding grasp of authentic period detail.”
—Susanna Calkins, author of the Lucy Campion historical mysteries and Speakeasy Murders

“An original, street-smart detective, an intriguing mystery, and delicious Victorian flavor. All my favorite things!”
—Laura Joh Rowland, author of The Ripper’s Shadow, a Victorian Mystery

“No one does Victorian England like Karen Odden . . . Fans of Anne Perry and Charles Finch will welcome Inspector Michael Corravan.”
—Mariah Fredericks, author of the Jane Prescott mystery series

“This terrific Victorian mystery [is] absolute catnip for those missing the William Monk mysteries of Anne Perry.”
—The Poisoned Pen Bookstore

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Karen Odden
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top