Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

The Making of Her

Best Seller
The Making of Her by Bernadette Jiwa
Hardcover $27.00
Aug 09, 2022 | ISBN 9780593186138

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Aug 09, 2022 | ISBN 9780593186138

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Aug 09, 2022 | ISBN 9780593186145

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Making of Her

Product Details

Praise

“Bernadette Jiwa’s powerful debut serves as a tribute to motherhood and the strength of women.” 
Veranda

“Memorable insights are quotable and the ending is satisfyingly true to the ups and downs experienced by Joan’s extended family. Fans of Maeve Binchey, Cathy Kelly, or Adriana Trigiani may find a new favorite author here.”
Booklist (starred)

“Tightly crafted women’s fiction, with a sensitive look at love, conscience, and loyalty.” 
New York Journal of Books

“While the issue of accidental pregnancy might have seemed an old-fashioned problem just a year ago, it’s suddenly deeply relevant again. Jiwa reminds us that no such decision can be made lightly, and whatever happens will follow the parents—but mostly the mother—for the rest of their life.”
The Star Tribune

The Making of Her sucked me in from the very first page, and didn’t let up until I’d turned the last. Heartwarming and heartbreaking, it is an exquisite examination of the secrets that haunt us. I cried several times. A stunning debut.” 
—Sally Hepworth, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Sister

The Making of Her is a compelling and tender exploration of the unattainable expectations of women, the shame and guilt inherent in motherhood, and the reverberations of the hardest choices we make. Jiwa gives us a beautifully crafted, thought-provoking novel that ultimately celebrates the strength of women. A true pleasure to read.”
—Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push

“Bernadette Jiwa’s moving fiction debut, The Making of Her, explores the impact of secrets, the magnitude of our choices, and the tenuous binds of family. Set in Dublin and shifting between past and present, this deeply evocative novel is a masterful study into what it really means to love, and to forgive. The Making of Her is ultimately a story about the plight and power of women, and is not to be missed.”
—Karma Brown, bestselling author of Recipe for a Perfect Wife
 
“An absorbing, brilliantly paced book; I didn’t want it to end.”
—Roddy Doyle

“Oh how I love this novel! Once I started reading I never looked away, except when my eyes filled with tears. The Making of Her renders its characters so perfectly, and with so much compassion, they feel like dear friends after only a few chapters. Bernadette Jiwa has written a beautiful tribute to what our lives can become when shame is forgotten, and love is reclaimed.”
—Nina de Gramont, author of The Christie Affair

“Bernadette Jiwa writes with compassion and grace about what it means to be a mother, a daughter, and a sister.”
Pip Williams, author of The Dictionary of Lost Words

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates about Bernadette Jiwa
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use and understand that Penguin Random House collects certain categories of personal information for the purposes listed in that policy, discloses, sells, or shares certain personal information and retains personal information in accordance with the policy. You can opt-out of the sale or sharing of personal information anytime.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top