Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
No Filter and Other Lies by Crystal Maldonado
Add No Filter and Other Lies to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf
No Filter and Other Lies by Crystal Maldonado
Hardcover $18.99
Feb 08, 2022 | ISBN 9780823447183

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Feb 07, 2023 | ISBN 9780823453320 | Young Adult

    Also available from:

  • Feb 08, 2022 | ISBN 9780823447183 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 08, 2022 | ISBN 9780823452774 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

As Seen on Newsday, Refinery29, Autostraddle, We Need Diverse Books, LatinaMedia, BuzzFeed, GirlsLife, HipLATINA, People en Español, Good Housekeeping, the Lesbrary, and LGBTQ Reads!
A POPSUGAR Best New YA Novel 
A Seventeen Best Young Adult Book
A Good Housekeeping Best YA Novel of the Year

A Latina Media Most Anticipated Latina Book of the Year
A Nerdist Most Anticipated Book
A School Library Journal Not-to-Miss Latinx Book

A Nerd Daily Must-Have Queer Book
A HipLATINA Book You Need to Read
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

★ “Maldonado (Fat Chance, Charlie Vega) once again displays her gift for portraying complex family dynamics and layered interiority in this bighearted sophomore novel. . . . Maldonado’s writing has a warm and relatable feel, full of insight regarding societal expectations, accountability, and the need to belong within one’s own family and the wider world. An ultrasmart contemporary that fully understands what teens face in today’s social media–obsessed landscape.”Publishers Weekly, Starred Review  

“A really fun read. . . . A cute queer romance centering a fat, biracial smart-ass—one I’d follow on Instagram in a heartbeat if I could.”—Autostraddle

“A thought-provoking story for the digital age.”—POPSUGAR  

“Another stunning YA release from author Crystal Maldonado.”—Nerdist

“Crystal Maldonado strikes again with her latest novel.”—People en Español

“A fun read, not to mention a lesson in the importance of telling the truth.”—Good Housekeeping

“[A] love letter to brown, fat teenage girls.”—Refinery29

“Kat’s struggle for authenticity with her family and friends, not to mention her own sense of self, sparks important questions about what is valued and what is truly valuable.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Ideal for fans of E. Lockhart or Karen M. McManus, this title urges young readers to appreciate their worth as well as understand and accept the consequences of their actions.”School Library Connection

“Readers looking for a drama featuring a bisexual character that’s unrelated to coming out will appreciate this contemporary story with a strong sense of setting. . . . Fans of Leah Johnson’s books and Kevin Panetta’s Bloom will fall for this novel.”—Booklist

“Coming of age isn’t easy; especially when you are pretending to be someone else. A first purchase for high school realistic fiction collections.”—School Library Journal

“Hand this one to readers who like messy characters who make mistakes and have to deal with the consequences of their actions. . . . [A] look at identity and discovering real things while being so fake.”—Teen Librarian Toolbox

“Crystal Maldonado has become one of my official auto-buy authors. . . . No Filter and Other Lies perfectly articulates the pressures of social media and the need to construct the perfect version of yourself and how, little by little, that veneer of perfection cracks over time. If you’re looking for a fat, brown, messy bi-sexual character. . . this is the book for you!”—Latinxs in Kidlit

No Filter and Other Lies is a compelling and heartening read with a remarkable protagonist, authentic characters, an addictive plot and vital messages about healthy relationships. . . . Maldonado (Fat Chance, Charlie Vega) allows her characters to act like real teens: emotional, messy. They bicker with each other, stop talking and resume talking, tease and encourage. Though Kat comes into her queerness during the story’s events (‘So, bisexuality confirmed’), the plot doesn’t shift focus to a coming-out story. Her newfound attraction to girls is portrayed as a natural path in her wider journey, not as a hardship. . . . Kat’s certainty about who she is, what she likes and what she wants to be known for adds an important element: Maldonado’s protagonist is a self-confident teen who simply wants a say in how people see her.”—Shelf Awareness

“Crystal Maldonado’s thoughtful tale tackles complicated family relationships, social media obsession, and authenticity. . . . As Kat tries to make sense of the mess she’s made, teens will realize that social media doesn’t define their self-worth and understand the importance of communication, honesty, integrity, and staying true to themselves.”—Common Sense Media

“A really complex story [with] thought-provoking themes around social media, friendships, and family. Kat is still learning and growing. . . . Dealing with social media can be tough [and] the bias towards white and thin people is one she grapples with as a plus-sized brown girl. . . . Kat is also coming to new realizations about her sexuality that felt really genuine.”—YA Books Central

“Characters are flawed and nuanced. They make mistakes and learn from them and will continue to make mistakes after that because that’s what humans do. . . . Kat works hard to create the perfect online aesthetic through her Instagram account, but even though she spends hours finding the perfect shot and editing her photos, engagement is low which obviously discourages her. . . . That lack of validation and feeling of isolation leads her to create the Max account, and suddenly, now that the person speaking her words has a beautiful, thin, and white face, people care and want to listen. . . . Maldonado once again hit it out of the park with a story that tackles important topics but doesn’t come off as preachy or trite.”—Tea Time Lit

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Crystal Maldonado
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top