Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado
Add Fat Chance, Charlie Vega to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf
Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado
Paperback $12.99
Jan 11, 2022 | ISBN 9780823451319

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jan 11, 2022 | ISBN 9780823451319 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 02, 2021 | ISBN 9780823447176 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 02, 2021 | ISBN 9780823448906 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

A New England Book Award Winner
An NPR Best Book of the Year
An Amazon Best Childrens Book of the Year
A POPSUGAR Best New Young Adult Novel
A Cosmopolitan Best New Book
A Bustle Most Anticipated Debut
A Forbes Most Notable Young Adult Book
A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nominee
A Latinxs in Publishing Best Books of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Young Adult Book of the Year
A Business Insider Best Young Adult Romance Book
 
★ “Charlie’s struggles are authentic and raw while Maldonado’s bright prose makes for a page-turner. . . . An overdue and welcome ingénue.”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review
 
“Charlie’s emotional arc hits all the right notes, resulting in a warm and insightful coming-of-age tale.”—Publishers Weekly

“Perfection. . . . A romance that warms your entire body like a cup of hot chocolate.”—The Nerd Daily

“Sweet and sincere, Charlie Vega’s journey is a delight.”—School Library Journal
 
“With a memorable cast that brings fresh faces and voices to a typically homogenous genre, this title focuses on the positives of the often difficult and confusing high-school experience: genuine friendships and allies, powerful first crushes, and discovering oneself. . . . Charlie’s optimistic outlook, despite the challenges that come with her identity, will attract a widespread audience of romance lovers and expand their idea of what a romantic lead can look like.”—Booklist
 
“We’re so excited to get our hands on it.”—BuzzFeed
 
“Readers will appreciate Charlie from the get-go and rejoice when she herself begins to see the Charlie-celebrating light.”—The Bulletin of the Center for Childrens Books
 
Fat Chance, Charlie Vega is an utterly heartwarming story of love—of friends, of family, of romance and, most importantly, of oneself.”—Shelf Awareness
 
“Issues of body positivity and racial and gender identity are dealt with in a light, positive, and totally engrossing manner. This novel is perfect for fans of Julie Murphy’s Dumplin‘ and for any reader who struggles with feeling like they are ‘not enough.'”—School Library Connection

Fat Chance, Charlie Vega is an accomplished debut, and its nuanced depictions of first love, a complex mother-daughter relationship, and fat acceptance make it stand out.”—BookPage
 
“Fun and refreshing. . . . A heartfelt debut.”—Barnes and Noble

“A must-read for teens.”—Common Sense Media
 
“This book feels like your best friend giving you a hug—it’s warm and sweet and healing.”—Mason Deaver, bestselling author of I Wish You All the Best
 
“A sweet and cheerful debut, Fat Chance, Charlie Vega moves with rom-com energy and a whole lot of awkward, goofy, chubby-girl-with-a-crush-on-a-boy vibes.”—Gabby Rivera, author of Juliet Takes a Breath and Marvel’s America

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Crystal Maldonado
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top