Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
The Nightmare Man by J. H. Markert
Add The Nightmare Man to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf
The Nightmare Man by J. H. Markert
Paperback $19.99
Sep 26, 2023 | ISBN 9781639105380

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Sep 26, 2023 | ISBN 9781639105380

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jan 10, 2023 | ISBN 9781639101702

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jan 10, 2023 | ISBN 9781639101719

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for The Nightmare Man:
“[A] celebration of the genre . . . Fans of old school horror will want to check this out.”
Publishers Weekly

“Markert maintains a tense pace throughout. Fans of dark murder mysteries with an edge will enjoy this one, as will those who like Cassandra Khaw and Stephen King’s short stories (like “1408”).”
Booklist

“[For] fans who love Dean Koontz . . . a literary thrill ride and a supernaturally satisfying guilty pleasure.”
Library Journal

“Fans of Paul Tremblay, T. Kingfisher, and Stephen King will enjoy Markert’s fast-paced, old-school horror, brimming with edgy tension and evil.”
Library Journal, audiobook review

“An interesting twist on the classic . . . highly recommend.”
Manhattan Book Review, 5-star review

“With powerful characterization surrounding a central mystery, The Nightmare Man is an entertaining read for horror and suspense fans.”
Rain Taxi

“With an expansive cast of characters and an eerie backdrop of grotesque murders, the plot of this debut horror novel doesn’t hold back.”
Fangoria Magazine

“Nicely blends horror, thriller, suspense, and mystery.”
HorrorDNA

“Full of mystery, suspense, and twists, right up to the very end.”
Red Carpet Crash

“A clear heir to Stephen King, Peter Straub and Richard Matheson, J.H. Markert is an absolute architect in this dizzying, dazzling and utterly spooky descent into the mouth of madness. Equal parts thriller, detective novel and atmospheric folk horror extravaganza, The Nightmare Man is stunningly clever, richly layered and perfectly paced, with revelations and scares that kept this Constant Reader up well into the night. You’ll never think about a bad dream the same way again.”
—Peter Farris, award-winning author of Last Call for the Living

“A thrilling, fast-paced horror tale that’s part police drama/part slasher flick . . . One of the best works of horror I’ve read in quite a long time.”
—Jason Offutt, author of The Girl in the Corn

“It’s rare to find horror this original . . . a dark and captivating mystery populated with wonderfully realized characters, fraying relationships, and family secrets. The line dividing horror and thriller has been beautifully crossed. Markert knows how to work a twist and keep the reader guessing.”
—A. M. Shine, author of The Watchers

“An atmospheric and character-driven novel that reads like the brainchild of Michael Connelly and Stephen King . . . This terrifying story will make readers wonder if they should ever fall asleep again.”
—Richard Cox, author of House of the Rising Sun

“Tense, taut, and terrifying.”
—J. Todd Scott, author of The Flock

“A witch’s brew of horror. The setting steeps the reader in shadow, the mystery is beautifully layered, and the tension ratchets tighter with every turn of the page . . . A gloriously creepy scarefest!”
 —Jonathan Janz, author of The Siren and the Specter

“A masterful, atmospheric horror novel that has delicious/terrifying shades of The Silence of the Lambs and The Exorcist.”
—Josh Winning, author of The Shadow Glass

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates about J. H. Markert
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking “SIGN UP”, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use and understand that Penguin Random House collects certain categories of personal information for the purposes listed in that policy, discloses, sells, or shares certain personal information and retains personal information in accordance with the policy. You can opt-out of the sale or sharing of personal information anytime.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top