Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Welcome to Forever by Nathan Tavares
Add Welcome to Forever to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Welcome to Forever

Best Seller
Welcome to Forever by Nathan Tavares
Paperback $17.99
Mar 12, 2024 | ISBN 9781803360409

Preorder from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Mar 12, 2024 | ISBN 9781803360409

    Preorder from:

  • Mar 12, 2024 | ISBN 9781803364315

    Preorder from:

Product Details

Praise

“Tavares’s worldbuilding is complex and fascinating in this kaleidoscope of a novel. The high-stakes science fiction is sharp and tragic, hopeful and thrilling.” -Library Journal

“Tavares is fast becoming my favourite SF writer. Welcome to Forever is a masterful futuristic love story, absorbing and all too real.”
Kaaron Warren, award winning author of Into Bones Like Oil

“Tavares reminds us that no matter how far technology advances, human connection will always bind us. This is a sharp and aching portrait of love painted with a deft hand.”
Al Hess


“A hugely impressive feat of layered narratives and big ideas, told with an even bigger heart. I couldn’t put it down.”
Stark Holborn


“A thrilling vision of the future and a poignant tale of love and marriage, Welcome to Forever is impossible to forget. Tavares keenly engages with contemporary conversations about immortality and identity, and weaves a heartbreakingly beautiful story about the lengths people go for the ones they love.”
Victor Manibo


“In Welcome to Forever, Tavares does what all great writers of science fiction do best. He takes our hopes, fears and anxieties about the way we live today, skewers them to the page and makes the reader watch, helpless and captivated as they wriggle underneath his touch. Whether he’s probing the ethics – or absence thereof – in techno-capitalism, questioning whether the growing mental health industrial complex can really heal our minds and spirits or simply reminding us that it’s often harder to keep love than find it, he finds way to bridge big ideas with the truths of human nature on every page. Welcome to Forever is a work of artistic maturity, dazzling imagination and a horrible sense of foresight over what might come to pass – if we let it happen.”
Chris McCrudden, author of the Battlestar Suburbia series




PRAISE FOR NATHAN TAVARES


“A very beautiful, tender portrait of a romance, its unremarkable mundanity made precious against the backdrop of so many iterations…It’s a delightful, spiraling, idiosyncratic book that uses the language and techniques of filmmaking to structure a more interesting reading experience.” – The New York Times


“A powerful and touching love story.”
The Times


“Populated by some of the best sci-fi has to offer … The multiverse trope offers and easy and entertaining vehicle for very deep philosophical lessons about what it takes to grow up at any age.”
New Scientist


“A delightfully narrated tale of love at any cost, A FRACTURED INFINITY is as fun as it is heartfelt.” – Megan O’Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon and more


“With a narrative voice full of charm and punch, gripping from page one, the story unpeels layers of Hayes’s life while painting a hopeful near-future Earth. The cozy pace ramps to a dazzling finale exploring the resilience of entangled time and the malleability of morality when love is on the line and power free at hand. A wonderful debut perfect for fans of ARRIVAL and THE SPACE BETWEEN WORLDS.” – Essa Hansen, Nophek Gloss, Orbit 2020


“A cinematic rollercoaster ride … but the real beating heart of the novel is the compelling gay love story that I will remember for a long time: brilliant, flawed, multi-layered and beautifully human.”
Emmi Itäranta, author of The Moonday Letters


“Both poignant and thrilling … it’s a multifaceted jewel, with humanity’s flaws at its heart.”
Stark Holborn, author of Ten Low and Hel’s Eight


“Razor sharp prose, this complex, intelligent novel is ultimately empowering.” 
Kaaron Warren, author of Slights and more


“A Fractured Infinity is a heartfelt and haunting journey through the multiverse, with a clever, compelling narrative voice and a love story that shatters the boundaries between realities.”
Ren Hutchings, author of Under Fortunate Stars
 
“Unboxing a puzzle-box crush in an alternate universe … an idiosyncratic take on the ever-expanding multiverse genre.”
Nikhil Singh, author of Club Ded


‘Tavares hits the gas, sending the plot rocketing through dozens of fascinating possible Earths. The epic love story forms an intense emotional core and Hayes’s conversational narration charms. Anyone looking for queer sci-fi should check this out.’—Publishers Weekly 


“Tavares’s prose is dense, chewy, packed with one idea after another as he deftly builds not just one possible future world but dozens, all without ever losing sight of the most important thread: Hayes’s love for Yusuf.”
SFX


“It’s this juxtaposition of real-life relationships and ground-breaking technology that makes the novel shine.”—GeekDad


“This is a compelling, unconventional debut that is too freaking awesome to be a debut; a book that’s easy to read, but hard to recover from.”
Every Book a Doorway


“An engaging and enthralling story filled with interesting characters and ideas that was hard to put down.”
Set the Tape


“Fast-paced and thrilling.”
Tea Leaf Reads


“A multiversal love-story, a genre savvy sci-fi with a strong emotional core.”
Writings of a Doomscribe


“Nathan Tavares is interested chiefly in weaving a powerful and touching love story between two very different, flawed, engaging men. He succeeds handsomely.”
The Times


“Tavares’s prose is dense, chewy, packed with one idea after another as he deftly builds not just one possible future world but dozens, all without ever losing sight of the most important thread: Hayes’s love for Yusuf.”
SFX

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top