Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Anna of Byzantium by Tracy Barrett

Anna of Byzantium

Best Seller
Anna of Byzantium by Tracy Barrett
Mass Market Paperback $6.99
Oct 10, 2000 | ISBN 9780440415367
*This format is not eligible to earn points towards the Reader Rewards program

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Oct 10, 2000 | ISBN 9780440415367 | Young Adult

    Also available from:

    *This format is not eligible to earn points towards the Reader Rewards program
  • Apr 13, 2011 | ISBN 9780307789006 | Young Adult

    Available from:

Product Details

Praise

A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
An ALA Quick Pick
An ALA Best Book for Young Adults
A Booklist Editor’s Choice
A Booklist Top Ten Historical Fiction Pick

[STAR] “[Anna of Byzantium] involves readers in a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries worthy of a place among the tragic myths.” — The Bulletin, Starred review

In the tradition of E. L. Konigsburg’s A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver and Karen Cushman’s Catherine, Called Birdy comes this story of a real-life historical figure, Anna Commena, groomed to be the sovereign of the Byzantine empire…Barrett uses an effective first-person narrative to draw readers into Anna’s story, and the author’s precise use of detail helps re-create Anna’s world, the palace of Constantinople in the ninth century. . . Readers will be caught up in…this exciting read.”—Booklist, Boxed review

A fascinating mix of history, mystery, and intrigue.“-The Horn Book Magazine

“Barrett does a remarkable job of painting moods and emotions with spare, elegant sentences. . . This splendid novel about a neglected period of history is the perfect choice. . . Hard to imagine it being any better written.” —VOYA

This wonderfully engaging novel both entertains and serves as a lively history lesson with its well-researched background, dramatic plot and dimensional characters. Barrett’s descriptive, engaging prose will draw readers into a fascinating historical time, filled with political intrigue and a complex, admirable teen protagonist who faces her changing future with an inspiring combination of heart and mind.”— Wichita Eagle

Awards

ALA Best Books for Young Adults WINNER 2000

Texas Lonestar Reading List WINNER 2001

Get the latest updates from Tracy Barrett
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top