Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Mal and Chad Series

Stephen McCranie
Invisibility spray? No problem. Time machine? Child’s play. Kid genius Mal can build anything with the help of his talking dog, Chad. Getting Megan to notice him? Now there’s a problem. Reluctant readers will enjoy these chapter books told in comic-book panels.
Mal and Chad: The Biggest, Bestest Time Ever! by Stephen McCranie; Illustrated by Stephen McCranie
Mal and Chad: Food Fight! by Stephen McCranie; Illustrated by Stephen McCranie
Mal and Chad: Belly Flop! by Stephen McCranie; illustrated by Stephen McCranie

Mal and Chad Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
A time machine? Mal can build one with his eyes closed and one arm tied behind his back. His secret crush’s birthday party? Gulp.

A shrinking machine. Invisibility spray. If Mal can think it, he can build it. But there’s one thing he can’t seem to do: Get Megan to notice him. He gets his chance when he’s invited to her birthday party. But destroying her cake and presents wasn’t quite what Mal had in mind.

Good thing the school’s talent show is coming up! Megan will really be impressed when she sees Mal levitate for real and . . . uh-oh–cause a major blizzard?? Yikes! Who will go rescue Mal’s talking dog best friend, Chad?

Kids graduating from picture books or anxiously awaiting the next Ook and Gluk book will devour Stephen McCranie’s laugh-out-loud series.
Book 2
In the tradition of Calvin and Hobbes, MAL AND CHAD is a funny comic-strip graphic novel that makes a perfect first chapter book!

Mal is a kid genius with a talking dog . . . so why doesn’t anyone seem to notice him?

Poor Mal. It’s not easy being a kid genius who wears a lab coat to school (“It’s not a bathrobe!”). Megan, his not-so-secret crush, has formed a club that has a no-boys-allowed policy – especially not Mal, who would do anything to feel like he belongs. Fortunately, Mal always has Chad, his talking dog. When Chad begins having scary dreams, Mal builds a dream portal to defeat Chad’s nightmare beast once and for all. Something goes wrong, though, and the beast follows Mal back to reality. Now Megan and her friends are in danger . . . but Mal is there to come to the rescue, showing that, just maybe, he’s someone to pay attention to. With kid-friendly humor and a deft touch, Stephen McCranie continues his breakthrough series perfect for any kid who’s one book away from either Big Nate or Diary of a Wimpy Kid.
Book 1
In the tradition of Calvin and Hobbes, MAL AND CHAD is a funny comic-strip graphic novel that makes a perfect first chapter book!

Mal is a super kid genius and Chad is a talking dog, but no one knows it. What’s it like to be so extraordinary and yet so invisible? Not even Megan, Mal’s secret crush, has any idea that Mal is anything more than a dork. Fortunately, Mal and Chad are best friends with a penchant for adventure . . . even if the time-traveling does get them grounded by Mal’s mom.

Introducing the first in a series of illustrated chapter books by talented newcomer Stephen McCranie that are laugh-inducing, clever, and full of heart. Give this to any kid who’s a reluctant reader or is just leaving picture books and be prepared to answer the question: “When can I read the next one?”
Back to Top