Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

American Girl: Historical Character (TM): Julie Series

Megan McDonald
Julie: The Big Break by Megan McDonald
Julie Takes a Stand by Megan McDonald

American Girl: Historical Character (TM): Julie Series : Titles in Order

Book 2
Julie’s story continues with the second book in her series.

It’s 1976 and the entire country is celebrating America’s 200th birthday, including Julie! She can’t wait to camp in a horse-drawn wagon for the Bicentennial, but pioneer life turns out to be a lot harder than she expected. Back in school, Julie looks to make some history herself after she lands in detention for helping a friend, and decides to run for student body president to make some much-needed changes. But as the election heats up, Julie’s on the brink of dropping out. It’s her big chance to prove that one girl can change the system—but does she have the nerve?

This audiobook includes a historical “Looking Back” section.
Book 1
In this first book of her series, Julie Albright is dealing with big changes since her parents’ divorce.

When Julie finds out that her new school has a basketball team, life starts looking up—until the coach tells her girls aren’t allowed to play. Julie decides to fight for a place on the team, and almost loses her best friend in the process.

Meanwhile, a school project forces her to face some hard truths about her family—and herself. Growing up in San Francisco in the 1970s, Julie begins to realize that sometimes the best way to cope with change is to make a few changes of her own.

This audiobook includes a historical “Looking Back” section.
Back to Top