Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Layla Remington Series

Gil Reavill
13 Hollywood Apes by Gil Reavill
13 Stolen Girls by Gil Reavill
13 Under the Wire by Gil Reavill

Layla Remington Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
International Thriller Writers Award finalist Gil Reavill returns with another riveting crime novel featuring detective Layla Remington—perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Nevada Barr. As 13 Under the Wire unfolds, Layla’s dark and traumatic past threatens to explode into the here and now.
 
Los Angeles is in the grip of a monster riot. After thirty-six straight hours on duty, sheriff’s detective Layla Remington makes an error that could cost her badge. Shell-shocked, she retreats to the LASD’s temporary staging area: a once-grand mansion that Layla knows from what seems like a lifetime ago. . . .
 
It’s ten years earlier. Layla is twenty-two, a probationary cadet at the police academy. A childhood friend has died tragically in Tijuana, and Layla finds herself once again enmeshed in the lavish lives of the über-wealthy Loushane family. The privileged kids she grew up with are taking their places among the upper crust. But as Layla wraps up the late Simon Loushane’s affairs, she stumbles upon a clue to something very sinister that haunts the family.
 
Unable to quell her curiosity, Layla pulls at the threads of greed and tragedy—and unravels a twisted history of evil that stretches from the Gold Coast of Mexico to the Sonora Desert. And now, a decade later, those demons have come back to claim her.
Book 2
Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly or Nevada Barr, this gripping Layla Remington thriller from International Thriller Writers Award finalist Gil Reavill plunges readers beneath the glittering façade of Hollywood and into a terrifying underworld where beautiful women can just . . . disappear.
 
Malibu is crumbling. A monster earthquake has just ripped apart some of the priciest real estate on the planet. In a bizarre twist, it has also unearthed a grim secret buried for years beneath one particularly unstable hilltop: a steel barrel containing the mummified remains of Tarin Mistry, the beautiful starlet who went missing more than a decade ago. When Detective Investigator Layla Remington looks into that wretched metal coffin, she realizes she’s just landed the case of a lifetime.
 
But before Layla even strips off her latex gloves, a pair of hotshot LAPD detectives arrive on the scene and remove her from the investigation. Undeterred, she pursues her own line of inquiry. Risking her badge and her life, Layla’s determination to track down Tarin’s murderer takes her from the rarified air of exclusive canyon communities to seedy downtown sex clubs and the secluded lair of one of Hollywood’s most powerful men. But while Tarin’s case may be cold, her killer is poised to strike again—and in Layla, this depraved sociopath may have just found fresh prey.
Book 1
INTERNATIONAL THRILLER WRITERS AWARD FINALIST, BEST EBOOK ORIGINAL NOVEL

In a savvy, stylish thriller debut perfect for anyone who loves the crime novels of Michael Connelly or Nevada Barr, Gil Reavill unravels a chilling tale of murder and mayhem among humans and their closest evolutionary relatives—a primate family that may just be too close for comfort.
 
As a wildfire rages outside the Odalon Animal Sanctuary in the rugged Santa Monica foothills, the retired Hollywood movie chimpanzees housed there are shot and left for dead. When Malibu detective Layla Remington reaches the grisly scene the next morning, she’s deeply disturbed—and even more confused. The victims are not human, so the attack cannot be classified as homicide. Yet someone clearly wanted these animals dead, and executed them with ruthless efficiency. Miraculously, there is one survivor: a juvenile male named Angle.
 
But as Layla reaches the veterinarian’s office where Angle is recovering, a man with rock-star good looks and a laid-back Southern California attitude swoops in and removes him. And just like that, an unusual case turns truly bizarre. Soon reports surface of ferocious attacks against Odalon employees . . . with Angle as the prime suspect. As a wave of senseless violence reaches its apex, Layla chases a mystery man and his chimp—but everything comes back to that terrible night at the sanctuary.

Find other titles in

Back to Top