Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Sprout Street Neighbors Series

Anna Alter
Sprout Street Neighbors: Five Stories by Anna Alter
Sprout Street Neighbors: A New Arrival by Anna Alter
Sprout Street Neighbors: Bon Voyage by Anna Alter

Sprout Street Neighbors Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
“Has the heart of Winnie-the-Pooh and the charm of Frog and Toad. Can I move in next door?” —Grace Lin, Newbery Honor author
 
The Sprout Street friends are taking a trip in this early reader series perfect for fans of Clementine, Just Grace, and Ivy & Bean!
 
Mili is happy in her new home at 24 Sprout Street, but she misses the excitement of traveling, so she convinces her friends to travel with her to Paris.


Henry has never traveled and is all nerves. Emma is thrilled to go someplace unfamiliar and, in her excitement, packs everything she owns. Fernando wonders if Parisians will be like him. Wilbur is excited to explore the gardens of France, and Violet can’t wait to look at all the beautiful paintings at the Louvre museum.
 
Together these neighbors and friends soak up the joys of a new culture, but by the time their trip comes to an end, they’ll learn that nothing can compare to the comfort of a loving home.

Praise for Bon Voyage:
“[A] little gem.”–Kirkus Reviews

“With its tongue-in-cheek humor and emphasis on kindness, this title would be a good read-aloud for classrooms or a solid option for one-on-one bedtime sharing.”—School Library Journal
 

Praise for Sprout Street Neighbors:
“Illustrated chapters are at just the right level for new readers looking for a little bit of a challenge. Good friends and familiar situations will make readers feel at home.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Offers insights into friendship, independence, and compromise.” —Booklist

Book 2
“Has the heart of Winnie-the-Pooh and the charm of Frog and Toad. Can I move in next door?” —Grace Lin, Newbery Honor author
 
A new neighbor has moved to Sprout Street in this early reader series perfect for fans of Clementine, Just Grace, and Ivy & Bean.
 
Mili has just moved into the empty apartment on Sprout Street all the way from Hawaii—and her new neighbors can’t wait to meet her! Violet is happy there’s someone in the building who shares her love of art. Emma is excited to have a new breakfast buddy. Henry is eager to show off his model ships. Mili is quick to lend a hand when she finds Wilbur in a pickle, and Fernando always welcomes another voice at the weekly Sprout Street meetings. 
 
Of course, sometimes a new friend can take some getting used to, but with neighbors like these, it’s not long before Mili is part of the Sprout Street family, too.
 
“Illustrated chapters are at just the right level for new readers looking for a little bit of a challenge. Good friends and familiar situations will make readers feel at home.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Offers insights into friendship, independence, and compromise.” —Booklist
Book 1
In the tradition of classics such as The Wind in the Willows and Winnie-the-Pooh comes Anna Alter’s first chapter book.
 
Henry, Violet, Emma, Wilbur, and Fernando are neighbors in the same apartment building and they are also friends—though they have very different personalities and interests. Henry prefers peace and quiet, and poetry. Violet spends hours knitting and practicing her flute. Emma loves planning birthday parties. Wilbur would be happy to spend all day in his garden. And Fernando is just a little bit shy, but has a secret talent for the stage.
 
Sharing walls with your neighbor can sometimes bring the unexpected, but in the end, these five work together to overcome their differences.

Find other titles in

Back to Top