Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
The ReadDown

40 Books Every Music Lover Should Read

Are you a music fan? These fiction and nonfiction books are sure to satisfy your desire to rock and read a fantastic story.
  1. 1

    A Visit from the Goon Squad

    This book a visit from punk rock’s rich history intertwined with a web of enthralling characters.

    A Visit from the Goon Squad Book Cover Picture
  2. 2

    Ready Player One

    For readers who enjoy 80’s pop culture references, video games, and dystopian showdowns.

    Ready Player One Book Cover Picture
  3. 3

    High Fidelity

    A story about music and breakups; the winning combination.

    High Fidelity Book Cover Picture
  4. 4

    Talking to Girls About Duran Duran

    The key to her heart is through her ears.

    Talking to Girls About Duran Duran Book Cover Picture
  5. 5

    Porcelain

    When Moby wasn’t a legendary, world-renowned DJ, he was struggling to beat the odds in a NYC club scene.

    Porcelain Book Cover Picture
  6. 6

    How Music Got Free

    Learn about the secret history of the music industry.

    How Music Got Free Book Cover Picture
  7. 7

    Jagger

    For music lovers to learn about the elusive rocker in a whole new light.

    Jagger Book Cover Picture
  8. 8

    Autobiography

    One of the most influential music icons in history also has a unique writing talent.

    Autobiography Book Cover Picture
  9. 9

    Station Eleven

    A dystopian tale for symphony music lovers.

    Station Eleven Book Cover Picture
  10. 10

    Reckless

    Chrissie is so cool. She’s funny, honest, and just plain awesome in her autobiography.

    Reckless Book Cover Picture
  11. 11

    In the Pleasure Groove

    Because this list wouldn’t be complete without more than one Duran Duran book.

    In the Pleasure Groove Book Cover Picture
  12. 12

    Unfaithful Music & Disappearing Ink

    Music lovers know the radio, radio will take you to the other end of the telescope.

    Unfaithful Music & Disappearing Ink Book Cover Picture
  13. 13

    M Train

    Patti Smith is a vision, and we’d read her daily meditations, well, daily.

    M Train Book Cover Picture
  14. 14

    Under the Big Black Sun

    Travel back in time to the beginning and evolution of the Los Angeles punk rock scene.

    Under the Big Black Sun Book Cover Picture
  15. 15

    The Sun & The Moon & The Rolling Stones

    A fresh perspective on the Rolling Stones, told by the co-creator of HBO’s new music series, Vinyl.

    The Sun & The Moon & The Rolling Stones Book Cover Picture
  16. 16

    Billie Holiday

    Critically acclaimed jazz writer and musician, John Szwed, gives fans a biography as well as a reflection on Billie Holiday’s special life.

    Billie Holiday Book Cover Picture
  17. 17

    Just Listen

    Teenage romance  sparked by a music obsession.

    Just Listen Book Cover Picture
  18. 18

    The Commitments

    When working class Irish kids form a band, you’re committed to reading about it.

    The Commitments Book Cover Picture
  19. 19

    The Fortress of Solitude

    Love music? Love coming of age novels? Here you go.

    The Fortress of Solitude Book Cover Picture
  20. 20

    The Piano Teacher

    Claire Pendleton goes to Hong Kong to work as a piano teacher.

    The Piano Teacher Book Cover Picture
  21. 21

    This Is Your Brain on Music

    Why do humans have a special relationship with music? This book tells us what music can teach us about the brain, and what your brain can teach us about music.

    This Is Your Brain on Music Book Cover Picture
  22. 22

    The Walrus and the Elephants

    John Lennon’s story of music and politics is a poignant reminder that music is love and love is peace.

    The Walrus and the Elephants Book Cover Picture
  23. 23

    Man on the Run

    Deeply revealing and detail rich, this McCartney biography is an illuminating look at the life of a rock icon.

    Man on the Run Book Cover Picture
  24. 24

    Waging Heavy Peace

    “I think I will have to use my time wisely and keep my thoughts straight if I am to succeed and deliver the cargo I so carefully have carried thus far to the outer reaches.”  –Neil Young, from Waging Heavy Peace

    Waging Heavy Peace Book Cover Picture
  25. 25

    Bob Dylan In America

    The answer, my friends, is blowing through the pages of this book.

    Bob Dylan In America Book Cover Picture
  26. 26

    A Freewheelin’ Time

    On that note, this memoir is playing a song for you in the jingle jangle mornings of the 1960’s folk music scene in NYC.

    A Freewheelin' Time Book Cover Picture
  27. 27

    Neil and Me

    Explore the life of Neil Young through his father’s eyes.

    Neil and Me Book Cover Picture
  28. 28

    The James Brown Reader

    James Brown’s life through the eyes of writers from four decades.

    The James Brown Reader Book Cover Picture
  29. 29

    Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl

    Music makes Carrie a modern rockstar.

    Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl Book Cover Picture
  30. 30

    The Soloist

    Renne was once one of the world’s greatest cellists, and years later, two events change his life drastically.

    The Soloist Book Cover Picture
  31. 31

    Audrey, Wait!

    After Audrey dumps her ex-boyfriend Evan, he writes a song about her that propels her into stardom.

    Audrey, Wait! Book Cover Picture
  32. 32

    A Life in Letters

    A selection of Mozart’s letters, translated into English, complete with notes, linking commentary and chronology.

    A Life in Letters Book Cover Picture
  33. 33

    Songbook

    “All I have to say about these songs is that I love them, and want to sing along to them, and force other people to listen to them, and get cross when these other people don’t like them as much as I do.” —Nick Hornby, from Songbook

    Songbook Book Cover Picture
  34. 34

    There Goes Gravity

    From Led Zeppelin to Eminem and Patti Smith to Kanye West, this book’s an insider’s behind-the-scenes look at the major personalities of rock and roll.

    There Goes Gravity Book Cover Picture
  35. 35

    The Loser

    A fictional story about the relationship between piano virtuoso Glenn Gould and two of his fellow students.

    The Loser Book Cover Picture
  36. 36

    Love Is a Mix Tape

    The mix tape is the symbol of first love and epitome of romance. (What do teenagers do now, make mix-Spotify playlists?)

    Love Is a Mix Tape Book Cover Picture
  37. 37

    Where She Went

    Music continues to flourish in the anticipated sequel to the moving story, If I Stay,

    Where She Went Book Cover Picture
  38. 38

    This Song Will Save Your Life

    This audiobook is about how music brings people together.

    This Song Will Save Your Life Book Cover Picture
  39. 39

    Musicophilia

    Oliver Sacks explores the place music occupies in the brain and how it affects the human condition.

    Musicophilia Book Cover Picture
  40. 40

    Dave Hill Doesn’t Live Here Anymore

    Dave Hill combines incredibly sultry guitar skills with an impeccable comedic timing to create a memorable performance.

    Dave Hill Doesn't Live Here Anymore Book Cover Picture

Related Lists:

Back to Top