Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Robert Fagles


About the Author

Robert Fagles was Arthur W. Marks ’19 Professor of Comparative Literature, Emeritus, at Princeton University. He was the recipient of the 1997 PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation and a 1996 Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His many translations include Sophocles’s Three Theban Plays, Aeschylus’s Oresteia (nominated for a National Book Award), Homer’s Iliad (winner of the 1991 Harold Morton Landon Translation Award by The Academy of American Poets), and Homer’s Odyssey. Robert Fagles passed away in 2008.

Sign me up for news about Robert Fagles and more from Penguin Random House

Books by Robert Fagles

More Series From Robert Fagles

Penguin Audio Classics

Back to Top