Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Christa Wolf


About the Author

Christa Wolf was a famed writer and literary critic of the former East Germany. She studied at the University of Jena and the University of Leipzig and worked as an editor until the 1963 publication of her first novel, Divided Heaven, which marked the beginning of her career as a writer. Her works, which reflect the ideological and political turmoil of living in a Nazi- and later communist-controlled Germany, include The Quest for Christa T., Medea, Patterns of Childhood, No Place on Earth, and the contentious novella What Remains. Despite a career fraught with controversy, she was the recipient of many prizes both before and after the war, including the Heinrich Mann Prize, Georg Büchner Prize, Elisabeth Langgässer Prize, and the first Deutscher Bücherpreis (German Book Prize). She died in 2011.

Sign me up for news about Christa Wolf and more from Penguin Random House

Books by Christa Wolf

Be the first to know!
We’ll send you the latest updates from Christa Wolf
We’ll send you the latest updates from Christa Wolf
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top