Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Wyatt

Best Seller
Wyatt by Garry Disher
Paperback
Jul 17, 2012 | 336 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $16.95

    Jul 17, 2012 | 336 Pages

  • Ebook $9.99

    Aug 09, 2011 | 320 Pages

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Wyatt

One of Booklist‘s ”101 Best Crime Novels of the Last Decade”

“Like an Australian Bob le Flambeur, Disher’s titular robber is smooth, calm and planning a big heist.”
Entertainment Weekly


“The first U.S. appearance of this series, and it’s just brilliant.”
Seattle Times

“Once again Disher takes us back to the golden age of thrillers, a time when they were fast, taut and dependably suspenseful.”
Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

“A jewel heist that appears straightforward proves anything but in Australian author Disher’s outstanding seventh thriller featuring Melbourne bank robber Wyatt Wareen, last seen in 1997’s The Fallout…. The spare, economical prose perfectly suits this tale of mad love and crimes gone wrong … and should boost the reputation of Disher, winner of Australia’s Ned Kelly Award, in the U.S.”
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Wyatt Wareen has been away for awhile, but he’s back in Melbourne and looking for a score…. Disher also writes the excellent Inspector Hal Challis procedurals (Chain of Evidence, 2007), but a new Wyatt novel—we’ve described the series as “criminal procedurals” (Kick Back, 1993)—is cause for celebration. Though the ensemble cast is sharply drawn, the heart of the story is Wyatt, a cool-headed, taciturn, unsentimental thief with a code … Wyatt may be a man out of time, but crime fiction like this is timeless.
Booklist, Starred Review

“Disher’s depiction of Melbourne’s underworld is a revelation—undeniably lurid and harsh yet humming with a vibrancy that lends a soulful note to the story. In his first Wyatt thriller in 13 years, Disher, author of the Hal Challis police procedurals (The Dragon Man; Blood Moon) excels at capturing the complexity and tension of life on the run, and his characters exude a visceral energy as they compete to survive. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy atmospheric, character-driven crime thrillers.”
Library Journal, Starred Review

“I’ve read my way across the landscape of caper novels. Somehow, though, I missed Australia, particularly Garry Disher’s series with thief Wyatt. Thankfully, that has now been remedied. Although Wyatt is Disher’s seventh featuring his inscrutable hero, it was a terrific place to start.”
Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel


“The plot is solid, pacing excellent, and the characterization first-rate. Fans of Barry Eisler and Ted Bell should also appreciate Disher.”
ForeWord Reviews

“If you want an armchair trip to Australia, try this cool caper…. Readers familiar with Garry Disher’s procedural series featuring Hal Challis will recognize the author’s straightforward style and his ability to create an ensemble cast of three-dimensional characters with a few deft strokes.”
Mystery Scene

“If you’ve read Ripley you’ll understand…”
Jeff Park, Front Row (BBC)

Praise for the Hal Challis series

“This series boasts careful, realistic casework, but there’s enough darkness and ambiguity to suit John Harvey fans and a kind of which-way-is-up sense of the police force that recalls early James Ellroy. Moody, inventive, and extremely hard to put down.” 
—Booklist

Back to Top