Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Winter at the Door

Best Seller
Winter at the Door by Sarah Graves
Ebook
Jan 06, 2015 | ISBN 9780345539052
  • Ebook $9.99

    Jan 06, 2015 | ISBN 9780345539052

Product Details

Praise

“Sarah Graves writes with grace and intelligence, and a love for her state shines through in this stylish debut of a new series set against Maine’s dark and foreboding forests. I’m hooked!”—Margaret Maron, New York Times bestselling author of Designated Daughters

“Fast and dangerous, an extraordinarily entertaining read, Winter at the Door grabbed me from the thrilling first page. Sarah Graves paints a vivid picture of remote Bearkill, Maine. She’s created a likeable, endearing heroine in Lizzie Snow, who’s everything you could want in a cop hero: quirky and fun and fallible, but when the chips are down you know she’s got your back. I’ve no doubt Snow will quickly become a reader favorite.”—Linda Castillo, New York Times bestselling author of The Dead Will Tell

“Readers who enjoy Linda Castillo and Lisa Gardner will welcome Lizzie, a strong, motivated woman making her way in the frozen north.”Booklist

“Lizzie is edgy and independent. . . . Taking a page from Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum, two hunky guys pursue Lizzie, each stumbling over the other as they try to protect a woman who really can protect herself. Readers can relax in Graves’s able hands as she spins a complex tale with twists and turns that feel earned, and a character who knows exactly who she is.”—The Boston Globe

“An entertaining story that proceeds to an explosive conclusion.”—Mystery Scene

“A superbly suspenseful mystery with likable tough cop Lizzie and a town full of character. It’s bound to appeal to readers who enjoy Jenny Milchman’s books.”Library Journal (starred review)

“The plot cannonballs to a conclusion that leaves readers eager for the next installment.”Publishers Weekly

“Sarah Graves’s new series featuring Lizzie Snow is off to a strong start with Winter at the Door. She paints an authentic and vivid setting and gives her new protagonist actions and reactions that ring true. . . . Lizzie is a tough cookie with a soft side, and this first thriller delivers plenty of chills for an engaging cold-weather read.”The Free Lance–Star

“A unique and engaging heroine . . . Winter at the Door is a fast-paced mystery full of surprises that will leave the readers stunned and fulfilled. Readers will devour this new mystery series.”RT Book Reviews

“This is a good start for this new series and once you get to know Lizzie Snow, you’ll want to accompany her on further adventures.”BookLoons

“With Winter at the Door, Sarah Graves has pulled off a small miracle. Through artfully precise language and a plot that kept me turning pages well past my bedtime, she transported me to a North Woods village that seemed utterly real in the vividness of its details and yet almost dreamlike. I got out my map of Maine, looking for the backwoods town of Bearkill, and was surprised when I couldn’t find it. What a fantastic setting, and what a great character in Lizzie Snow. I can’t wait for the next book.”—Paul Doiron, author of The Bone Orchard

Back to Top